Old masters of Murano-Venice

Get feedback from others on your works in progress
User avatar
contegufo
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:41 am
Location: Lucca ITALY

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by contegufo » Thu Jun 16, 2016 3:36 am

Hi

@Zalevskiy, Thank you

Depth of field with these parameters.
Attachments
DOF.jpg
glass3.jpg
Mac Mini 2011 - 2,3 GHz Intel Core i5
16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 - Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 Mb.
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB - MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6



https://www.behance.net/Paolo_Conti

User avatar
Originalplan®
Posts: 755
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:58 pm
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by Originalplan® » Thu Jun 16, 2016 3:42 am

Good work contegufo!

You mind trying this settings on the marked areas?

F-stop: 2.1
Exp: 20

(ISO:200)
Focal distance: 0,10m or autofocus.
Attachments
DOF.jpg

User avatar
contegufo
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:41 am
Location: Lucca ITALY

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by contegufo » Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:14 am

With those parameters I have a very narrow field.
Try it yourself.
Attachments
quickrender.pigs
(4.18 MiB) Downloaded 103 times
Mac Mini 2011 - 2,3 GHz Intel Core i5
16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 - Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 Mb.
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB - MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6



https://www.behance.net/Paolo_Conti

User avatar
Originalplan®
Posts: 755
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:58 pm
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by Originalplan® » Thu Jun 16, 2016 5:00 am

Yep it is i think it's because your scene is too big...the focal distance from the camera is 6m.
If it would be realscale...maybe 10-15cm for a glass or 20cm-30cm for the vase then it would work.

burnin
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by burnin » Thu Jun 16, 2016 8:27 am

yup, you should use real world scale.

is yours 100:1 (m vs. cm)?
Can you set scene scale in Indigo? Would be nice.

User avatar
contegufo
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:41 am
Location: Lucca ITALY

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by contegufo » Thu Jun 16, 2016 10:37 am

Unfortunately, there is no ability to scale in Indigo. When importing objects should be done carefully. The problem that the used set is the same for objects of other dimensions, this to speed up times.
Mac Mini 2011 - 2,3 GHz Intel Core i5
16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 - Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 Mb.
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB - MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6



https://www.behance.net/Paolo_Conti

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2259
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by pixie » Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:28 pm

burnin wrote:yup, you should use real world scale.

is yours 100:1 (m vs. cm)?
Can you set scene scale in Indigo? Would be nice.
So you ask indigo to do something that should be the responsability of the 3d modeler? Why? Indigo is a graphic engine, not a modeler.

User avatar
galinette
1st Place Winner
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:39 am
Location: Nantes, France
Contact:

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by galinette » Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:56 pm

If your scene is too big or too large, you can simulate a scene rescale by multiplying focal length and sensor witdth by the same amount.

Example : if you have a scene which is in kilometers, but want to have DOF, you need to have a very big sensor size and a very big focal length. And conversely : on a very small scene, if you want to avoid ultra narrow DOF, use a micro camera : tiny sensor width and focal length.

Cheers
Eclat-Digital Research
http://www.eclat-digital.com

burnin
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by burnin » Fri Jun 17, 2016 3:04 am

pixie wrote:
burnin wrote:yup, you should use real world scale.

is yours 100:1 (m vs. cm)?
Can you set scene scale in Indigo? Would be nice.
So you ask indigo to do something that should be the responsability of the 3d modeler? Why? Indigo is a graphic engine, not a modeler.
Personally i take responsibility for my skills and my service.
To blame an architectural modeler for modeling in meters or an engineer for modeling in mm?!? Absurd.
Visualizers/artists do get scenes in many different units (m, mm, cm, inch, feet, km...) with often times horrible geometry... which has to be dealt with, no excuse.
"Setting scale to the whole scene in Indigo is much more welcome than checking, modifying, traveling through and seeking scapegoat. The solution to 'proper' DoF would already be made if such an option would be there."

Was an idea, a hint. I don't ask, i humbly test, give advice and share opinion.

Sorry for the inconvenience. :wink:

User avatar
contegufo
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:41 am
Location: Lucca ITALY

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by contegufo » Fri Jun 17, 2016 3:22 am

Hi

I redid the scene, now in centimeters, changing slightly the position of the models.
I changed the light areas now two large one on the right and a 45 ° angled left.
Attachments
01.jpg
candprimo piano.jpg
00.jpg
Senza titolo0.jpg
filter.jpg
Mac Mini 2011 - 2,3 GHz Intel Core i5
16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 - Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 Mb.
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB - MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6



https://www.behance.net/Paolo_Conti

User avatar
Originalplan®
Posts: 755
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:58 pm
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by Originalplan® » Fri Jun 17, 2016 3:30 am

I think it's better contegufo, well done! Nice DOF too on the first image.

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2259
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Old masters of Murano-Venice

Post by pixie » Fri Jun 17, 2016 6:52 am

burnin wrote:Personally i take responsibility for my skills and my service.
To blame an architectural modeler for modeling in meters or an engineer for modeling in mm?!? Absurd.
Visualizers/artists do get scenes in many different units (m, mm, cm, inch, feet, km...) with often times horrible geometry... which has to be dealt with, no excuse.
"Setting scale to the whole scene in Indigo is much more welcome than checking, modifying, traveling through and seeking scapegoat. The solution to 'proper' DoF would already be made if such an option would be there."

Was an idea, a hint. I don't ask, i humbly test, give advice and share opinion.

Sorry for the inconvenience. :wink:
I don't know what your issues are that the modeler take care of it, because it usually does, at least Cinema I know for a fact, I would guess that others would too. There's also the options in the exporter to set the unit being exported which I think it covers all the rest, we're practically left with human error. Which program do you use burnin?

Post Reply
27 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests