Wooden house on Kopaonik (Serbia)

Get feedback from others on your works in progress
4 posts • Page 1 of 1
Pikadili89

Wooden house on Kopaonik (Serbia)

Post by Pikadili89 » Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:49 am

Heya guys. I just finished this small but interesting wooden house. Can anybody tell me how to get rid of fireflies in the night render? It was ENV map + lights while day render was only ENV map. The background is actually a picture of some landscape set in sketchup as plane background with settings for "recieve shadows" and "cast shadows" set to OFF. This renders are raw, without any postproduction couse my skill at photoshop is terible! :)

And ofc, shoot critics and comments! :)
Attachments
2.jpg
1.jpg

Oscar J
1st Place Winner
3D Software: Blender

Re: Wooden house on Kopaonik (Serbia)

Post by Oscar J » Tue Nov 26, 2013 3:32 am

Overall great renders, with a very nice mood to them. I'm not really good at rendering these kinds of things, but here are some noob suggestions anyway, which probably should be valued as such.

In both renders, you have a lot of noise going on. Try using BiDir rendering method if you're using PT now, and BiDir with MLT if you're already using BiDir. If the noise still won't go away, try raising the supersampling value to 3 or even 4 (it will eat more memory, but it shouldn't be that bad). Another thing that sometimes generates noise, is having too bright textures/materials. The wood for example, looks a bit bright. Check the wood texture in your photo editing software of choice and make sure that the RGB values don't go much higher than 200/200/200. Last but not least, use glass acceleration, if you aren't already.

In the night render, I'd suggest cranking up the HDRI a bit, so that there's a suggestion of the roofing and grass. I usually try to avoid having big areas totally black or totally white, but I suppose that's a matter of taste.