Material/shader editor as part of the gui ?

For all Indigo users.
sk2k

Material/shader editor as part of the gui ?

Post by sk2k » Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:18 pm

Hi,

you stated that the goal of the Indigo team is to "Make Indigo friendlier for new users...". I'm not a new user but more of a hobby artist. :)

I know that the material creation is currently part of the exporters but a "unified" way for creating/tweaking/adjusting/assigning/saving materials/shaders from within the GUI would be helpful.

I liked the integrated material editor in the Radium renderer (it's dead now?).
Loading the scene and creating/adjusting the materials was a breeze.

I'm a total newbie when it comes to shaders so i'm only using "normal" materials. Some sort of "klick-together-your-own-shader" would be another useful thing for the not so experienced users. :)

MfG
sk2k

Sir

Post by Sir » Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:34 pm

personally i think c4d's material interface is the best ive ever used, double click the material, then turn on whatever properties you want it to be assigned, its all there for you...

try and take a leaf out of their book! :wink:

edit

obv if using c4d in the first place this is less relevant, but if designing an inbuilt material editor i think it would be a suitable inspiration

neo0.

Post by neo0. » Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:24 am

I agree, this would be nice.

neepneep
Indigo 100

Post by neepneep » Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:09 pm

Something like fryrender swap would be , like, oh my...please do. :!: :!: :!:

neo0.

Post by neo0. » Thu Feb 19, 2009 1:02 pm

Maybe the ability to edit materials that you created in indigo directly itself? You could create the materials initially in within the familiararity of your chosen app, then directly edit them with a graphical editor in indigo, saving you time and making the revision process much easier (because you wouldn't have to go back to the app.)

Just an idea..

neo0.

Post by neo0. » Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:37 pm