Indigo SDK 18

A private discussion forum for users of the Indigo Renderer SDK. Send a private message to OnoSendai if you want access.
User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6179
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Indigo SDK 18

Post by OnoSendai » Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:36 pm

Yes, I skipped a few revision numbers.
In-memory mesh definition is back.

http://indigorenderer.com/dist/IndigoSDK_18.zip

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3554
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Mon Feb 23, 2009 6:10 pm

:)

does in-memory mesh definition work with network rendering?

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6179
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:09 pm

Hmm, no, it won't work currently.
Actually network rendering will be broken in this release, will fix soon.

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:27 pm

Great news, awesome !
So it will now work as before the 15 release? (without any intermediate igs file on the disk ?)

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6179
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:42 pm

No, it still uses an intermediate file for the non-mesh XML currently.

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:46 pm

Gtocha.
But it will not stay like that in the future?

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6179
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:27 pm

Suv: not sure, I may remove it in future.
I don't think it matters too much either way, the performance hit of writing to disk should not be significant, as long as meshes are passed in RAM.

For network rendering the scene has to be saved to disk anyway.

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3554
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:13 am

cant get the in mem mesh definiton to work.
in the driver.cpp its done after executeCommand(), do i have to do it like this?

if yes: when is the scene xml read? on buildScene()? its rather unpractical if i have to go through the scene again to export the meshes...

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3554
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:34 am

fused wrote:if yes: when is the scene xml read? on buildScene()? its rather unpractical if i have to go through the scene again to export the meshes...
i just checked it, it works perfectly when i call executeCommand() before i export the scene!

User avatar
rgigante
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:46 am
Location: Italy

Post by rgigante » Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:10 pm

fused wrote:
fused wrote:if yes: when is the scene xml read? on buildScene()? its rather unpractical if i have to go through the scene again to export the meshes...
i just checked it, it works perfectly when i call executeCommand() before i export the scene!
hmmm... how can u call executeCommand before exporting the scene with an empty .igs file?

Do i miss something?

Can't you simply store in a vector a pointer to your object and then process the meshes after the complete scene processing?

Thanks, Riccardo

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3554
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:35 pm

rgigante wrote:hmmm... how can u call executeCommand before exporting the scene with an empty .igs file?

Do i miss something?

Can't you simply store in a vector a pointer to your object and then process the meshes after the complete scene processing?

Thanks, Riccardo
i wouldnt even have to store a pointer, because c4d offers me quite a nice structure i can use, but it means iterating throug all objects again and im already doing that quite often to collect info about instances and such.

also im using material overrides a lot (im exporting each used material of a mesh before the <model> exponent, because parameters, especially shader parameters, like the matrix of the c4d mat, which of course applies to shaders, are likely to change for each object) and to find all used materials on an object im just returning a list of material names from the mesh export.
id have to find the materials twice (once for material export and once for mesh export). ok, i doubt that this is too speed critical, but for a lot of objects it adds some overhead.

its just faster, easier to maintain and straightforward to do it like this, at least for my needs :)
fused wrote:if yes: when is the scene xml read? on buildScene()?
indeed, the scene file is read after calling buildScene().

User avatar
rgigante
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:46 am
Location: Italy

Post by rgigante » Tue Feb 24, 2009 9:21 pm

Does it seems to me or the in the latest SDK the stopping the renderer takes longer compared to the previous releases?

R.

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3554
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Tue Feb 24, 2009 9:35 pm

yeah, think so, too.

User avatar
rgigante
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:46 am
Location: Italy

Post by rgigante » Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:51 am

Bug found REV18:

if SuperSampleFactor is equal to 1 the LDR framebuffer is not computed. All the rendering process continues normally, but when it's time to call "copyBuffer" is doesn't feed the buffer with any value different than 0,0,0 (this is confirmed by the fact that also the watermark is not displayed)


Riccardo.

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3554
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:37 am

i cannot confirm that. everything works fine here.
attached a scene exported with my plugin. renders good.

but:
fused wrote:also, the buffer returned by indigo is always 4 pixels higher/wider than the size you set (eg 320x240 / 324x244).
thats only with ssf = 1, maybe thats ur problem? since sdk 15.


meh, cant attatch a file....

Post Reply
17 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest