box + displacement map problem

Announcements, requests and support regarding SkIndigo - the Sketchup / Indigo exporter.
Post Reply
10 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
wojtek-w
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

box + displacement map problem

Post by wojtek-w » Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:33 am

Hi,
when i apply material with displacement map to a cube, as a result i got six planes moved along its normals and not connected (so it's not a cube anymore) Shoulden't the shader displace only non-black areas of a displacement map instead of all surface? Is it a normal behavior or am i doing something wrong?
SU 7 Skindigo 2.2.12
I'll appreciate all help.

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: box + displacement map problem

Post by Pibuz » Sat Feb 20, 2010 2:56 am

I'd appreciate an image to see the problem.
Help us in helping you 8)

User avatar
fenerolina
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 12:27 pm
Location: Pyrenees

Re: box + displacement map problem

Post by fenerolina » Sat Feb 20, 2010 4:43 am

I use to solve this problem by rounding the box cornes, even if its very few ,and smooth the edges . So when I click one face of the cube all the faces are selected as 1 texture instead of 6. Try it and post some images.. :)

User avatar
wojtek-w
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: box + displacement map problem

Post by wojtek-w » Sat Feb 20, 2010 4:59 am

:oops:
sorry i assumed all is clear.
I've just done test renders to show this issue and somehow the efect is different then yesterday when my question was born :shock: but still other then expected.
So first material preview with albedo map used for displacement and other one with external contrasted bw version of texture. Difference isn't big but visible. Displacement scale is set to 0.03 I hope now it's clearer. (btw how to save bigger preview?)
Then those 2 matrials applied on model. Cube is 300cmx300cmx300cm
Then a render i'v got yesterday (another scene - cube size 600x600x600 but displecement scale still around 0.03 (i'm not sure but not less then 0.03 and not bigger then 0.05) and the same external map of displacement ) - corner is quite straight but empty.
So my question is - is it possible to obtain not flat material but with no empty corners ?
Attachments
cube_ext-disp.jpg
ext displacement
cube_ext-disp.jpg (71.37 KiB) Viewed 1621 times
cube_su-disp.jpg
su dispalcement
cube_su-disp.jpg (69.93 KiB) Viewed 1621 times
thumb-ext-disp.png
preview wit ext map
thumb-ext-disp.png (60.44 KiB) Viewed 1623 times
thumb-su-disp.png
material preview with SU displacement map
thumb-su-disp.png (59.92 KiB) Viewed 1624 times

User avatar
wojtek-w
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: box + displacement map problem

Post by wojtek-w » Sat Feb 20, 2010 5:10 am

fenerolina wrote:I use to solve this problem by rounding the box cornes, even if its very few ,and smooth the edges . So when I click one face of the cube all the faces are selected as 1 texture instead of 6. Try it and post some images.. :)
thx for the tip. I'll try this.
so it's only a question of modeling technique? material behavior is normal ?
But still i don't understand why this time the surface is more "bumpy" than yesterday with sme displacement scale...
Attachments
yesterday.png
yesterday
yesterday.png (297.3 KiB) Viewed 1620 times

User avatar
galinette
1st Place Winner
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:39 am
Location: Nantes, France
Contact:

Re: box + displacement map problem

Post by galinette » Sat Feb 20, 2010 5:30 am

That's strange. I would expect this if your cube is exported as six independant squares, each having its own vertices. But for a regular cube where faces share eight vertices, this should not work like that.

Could you show the part of the igs containing the cube mesh?

Etienne
Eclat-Digital Research
http://www.eclat-digital.com

User avatar
wojtek-w
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: box + displacement map problem

Post by wojtek-w » Sat Feb 20, 2010 5:47 am

galinette wrote:
Could you show the part of the igs containing the cube mesh?

Etienne
sorry for the stupid question but - how?

and also isnt't the box in material preview a cube with 8 vertices?

User avatar
Whaat
Developer
Posts: 1824
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:15 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: box + displacement map problem

Post by Whaat » Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:00 am

I'm afraid that the SkIndigo cube preview scene cannot currently be used to preview displacement because it contains no subdivision settings.

In your scene with the box, be sure to use high enough subdivision settings. You probably need your max subdivisions set to about 10 for this scene.

A cube is tricky for subdivision because the edges will rip apart unless the face vertices share the same UV coordinate and the same normal. This can be accomplished by:
- positioning the texture on a face using the SketchUp texture positioning tools
- using the SU ink dropper to copy the texture position to an adjacent face (This makes the face vertices share the same UV coordinates)
- select all edges in the cube and 'soften' them using the SketchUp soften edges dialog. (This makes the vertices share the same normal)

If you follow these steps, the seams of your mesh will not rip apart.

User avatar
wojtek-w
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: box + displacement map problem

Post by wojtek-w » Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:07 am

thank You very much Whaat. I'll try this.

User avatar
Termin8
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 1:51 am

Re: box + displacement map problem

Post by Termin8 » Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:43 am

Hi all,

I have the same problem, but in Cinema 4D. Is there a standard workflow (hi subdivision, converting objects etc.) that i must go through to achieve better results? My trial/error method didn't give me the exact understanding of the procedure. Can enyone help please?

Thank you!

Regards,
Alexander
Lenovo IdeaPad Y510: Core2Duo 2.1GHz, 2GB RAM, GeForce 8600M GT, WinXP Pro SP3, Cinema 4D 11.5/Blender 2.49 and Indigo 2.2.12 with Cindigo 2.2.11/Blendigo 32-bit

Post Reply
10 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest