Page 1 of 3

[NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:26 am
by CTZn
Before MayaToIndigo can line up with Indigo version, I opted for a dated release system, nothing confusing.

There will be one new topic and one MtI brand per month, corrections increasing the suffix number.

MayaToIndigo_JAN-2010_2.zip

see http://www.indigorenderer.com/forum/vie ... 009#p91009
Older version:

MayaToIndigo_JAN-2010_1.zip

Fixes the initialisation issue caused by trains not waiting

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:11 pm
by SreckoM
Does this work with Maya 2010 64 bit?

And how to install this, I put .py file into plugins folder, rest into maya user dir. I can load plugin but shelf is empty, shader works, it looks like it is partially implemented ....

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:13 am
by CTZn
MtI should run under any Maya version since 8.0. I'll try to understand the causes of that known installation issue wich I could never reproduce myself (that's problematic).

Meanwhile let's test the installation:

In the Maya Command Line, type:

Code: Select all

whatIs indigoShader_changeType;
then

Code: Select all

whatIs mti_init;
Please report the two results. You can make up the paths if you care (hopefully that'll report paths...). I'll choose the next action depending on that.

edit: if the second test returns a path, then make a shelf button of

Code: Select all

mti_init; mti_EDI;
to (initialize and) start the editor.
and

Code: Select all

mti_init; mti_Gen;
to (initialize and) start export.

MtI should always be initialized before you attempt any Indigo related action within Maya, including creating the monolithic indigoShader.

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:19 am
by SreckoM
I was waiting for your answer :)

First to confirm:
1. .py file goes into plugins folder?
2. Rest of the files goes to user maya folders?

Tnx.

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:37 am
by SreckoM
First command outputs 'Unkown'

Second did output path. And after executing mti_init; and mti_EDI; editor is started.

Now I will play with Indigo and see how this exporter works.

Thank you.

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:55 am
by SreckoM
Questions:
1 . How to create exit portals?
2. Can I set value of emitter as lumens (same as in Blender)?
3. Is it possible to import materials (created with material editor)?
4. What is procedure for creating instances?

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:58 am
by CTZn
Ah, I'm glad that you got started sreckoM. Thank you for the results too, that helps.
1 . How to create exit portals?
Any mesh with name starting by ExitPortal will be an exit portal to Indigo. Trivial, I will certainly change that :) ExitPortalWhatever is a valid exit portal name.


2. Can I set value of emitter as lumens (same as in Blender)?
Not at the moment but that could possibly happen in January. Default Indigo units still apply.


3. Is it possible to import materials (created with material editor)?
Again, not at the moment, but material linking is possible. Command:

Code: Select all

mti_showXmlChooser("include");
Select the mesh(es) to link the material to then run the procedure. Next, browse to the desired IGM definition.

Material import is absolutely of an high priority, coming right after the critical initialisation issues we are currently dealing with :)


4. What is procedure for creating instances?
Command is:

Code: Select all

mti_makeInstances;
First select the mesh(es) to create instancing locators for, then run the procedure. Instancing locators can be duplicated etc... Don't forget to tick "export MtI instancing locators" down the OUTPUT pane.



Now you can try this, that's an option:

Start Maya, do not initialize MtI. Load the indigoPlugin manually if that's not automatic yet. From the Hypershade's Create Node pane, create a Spectrum Node (down Color Utilities).

If the Spectum Node AE shows a structured layout, then we should consider the init issue fixed for the next (soonish) version. If not I will need to know please sreckoM.

NB: executing mti_init; will load the plugin if it wasn't already. Auto-load is not required.

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:31 am
by SreckoM
Yes it shows structured layout. I can choose between blackbody, uniform or peak. What is purpose of spectrum node, can I plug it into color of material that will emit light?
Only thing that is not working is that shelf is not generated. I think that else works OK, for time being.

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:55 am
by CTZn
I will investigate the shelf too, thank you again sreckoM !

The spectrumNode can be plugged to replace a variety of RGB parameters, and all 3 exposed spectrums are valid for emission. Specifically, blackbody is meant for that. The default gain should be around the lines.

I hope that you are using the Indigo Palette:

Code: Select all

mti_EDI;
or you may miss most MtI aspects. Select a material, in the Palette tick Base Emission to allow emission for the material.

You can expect an update and an introductory video tutorial this month.

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:32 am
by Phr0stByte
@ CTZn - What MtI version is most compatible with Indigo 1.1.8?

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 7:07 am
by CTZn
Mmh they should all be, simply get the latest. A few new options will not be supported by 1.1.18, you'll spot them easily (absorbtion layer notably).

Please report showstoppers though.

I can provide support only for the latest MtI version, that's the one to improve.

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:31 am
by SreckoM
I am constantly getting this error on larger scenes. I am using instances in there heavily, might that cause problems?

Code: Select all

A problem occurred with the scene:
SceneLoaderExcep: Model tried to use undefined mesh '|bigTableSet|transform1|dining_chair2|Dining_Chair:pCube3|Dining_Chair:pCubeShape3'. (In element 'model', around line 2652, column 1)
Please contact support@indigorenderer.com.

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:37 am
by CTZn
Yes, there's certainly something wrong with instances... and in first instance ":" is not a valid character (it should not appear there), if that's possible replace it by "|" for the model Indigo reported and see if the error is propagated to the next instance.

If that works, and if you are not using ISL code then you can safely replace all ":" in the IGS by "|" (text editors have such functions). Meanwhile I will investigate the bug and release jan10_2 when it's fixed.

Thanks for the report sreckoM !

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:11 am
by CTZn
Hey SreckoM, normal instances (trough Duplicate Special) are not supported at the moment, I'm working on this.

MtI has it's own instancing system, plus it supports (erratically for now) particles instances, hence my confusion.

Re: [NEW VERSIONING] MayaToIndigo JAN-2010

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:48 am
by SreckoM
Thanks for info.

I had to use them as I have 50 tables in restaurant hall. It is much easier to manipulate them that way.

I will try to convert them to regular geometry.