MtI v1.0.9 Stable (updated 17th April 2008)

Announcements, requests and support regarding the MAYA exporter
User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Thu Apr 17, 2008 11:04 pm

dougal2
Do you know anyone else active in the forum that runs the linux version of Maya? I have not seen anyone else Are you sure the install script is putting the script in the right paths for linux ("/" instead of "\")? I didnt have time to fully check it out last night.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:11 am

yup, i wrote the installer script by hand. it should all be correct linux paths.

In fact, if you run it and choose a maya version that you don't have (ie, 7.0 if you in fact have 2008), you'll see a new folder ~/maya/7.0/ with the files created by the installer.

I think the problem in your case is that Maya.env hasn't been updated properly, particularly the MAYA_SCRIPT_PATH.

Are your maya settings in fact stored in ~/maya/ ? I'm not aware of any way to change this, it should be the same for every user.

If you want to have a look at the installer script and follow through what it does, it is here:
https://svn.hamsterfight.co.uk/filedeta ... rev=0&sc=0

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:20 am

dougal2
I think you may be correct - In my case, I already had mti installed manually and ran the install script to put it over top. I will clean it all out and runt the install script again - I will keep you posted.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:26 am

BTW, your original Maya.env should have been backed up into Maya.env.org - as long as you only ran the installer once.

I need to add a check in the installer so that if Maya.env.orig already exists it won't overwrite it - thus truly keeping a copy of the original.

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:39 am

dougal2
Cool - maybe just replcing it will do the trick. I will try that first.

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:54 am

dougal2
strangeness I dont understand - Indigo mats all black. They are textured and plain phongs and blinns. Using spherical exr for lighting. The NK gold looks like it will come out fine though.

The other image is a quick MR render so you can see what I am going for (kinda).
Attachments
tea-time.jpg
tea-time.jpg (92.7 KiB) Viewed 2438 times
im1208442950.png
im1208442950.png (132.72 KiB) Viewed 2438 times

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:38 am

That's very odd indeed. I can only suggest to check your tonemapping settings, and the render_alpha setting.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Fri Apr 18, 2008 9:18 am

I've updated the linux installer to fix numerous bugs:
1. ~ needed to be expanded to full /home/username/
2. MAYA_SCRIPT_PATH was overwritten by subsequent writes to Maya.env
3. XBMLANGPATH needs"%B" on the end to make the icons (finally!) work
4. Added check so that Maya.env is only backed up once so you always have your original as a backup.
5. Set indigo and scene path defaults in mti_UserPrefs.mel
6. fixed the shelf script

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:21 am

dougal2
Great stuff, Man! the scrip is working perfectly now. Unfortunately. Maya/Indigo combination is frustrating me to no end - I can't get my materials right at all. I don't understand why it is so complicated... Its not for any other renderer. Even Blender/Indigo is so much easier.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:34 am

Are you using the native indigoShader for materials or converting from lambert/phong/blinn ?

I suspect that using the indigoShader might be easier, but I realise it has limitations (no bump or exponent maps and it cannot yet be blended)

Are there any parameters in particular you have trouble with? There are some conversion constants used in MtI - I can't recall what they are off the top of my head but I can look them up if you need anything specific.

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:17 am

dougal2
I think a list of basic mats would be great - kind of Maya mat = Indigo mat kinda thing.

It would probably work best if we had a thread somewhere here in the Maya section where all users can post their Maya mats that translate well into what they are after in Indigo.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:41 am

it's actually all in the documentation in the Wiki
http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/in ... _materials

Some parts of the document i know are a bit old, but the materials translation is still the same.

You can of course save materials as presets - there should be some basic defaults installed with MtI - that'd be one way to share materials.

Another way would be to enable the ".igms" option on export and share the indigo .igm files for good materials. (*makes sublte pointing motions towards signature*)
You can load an igm into the scene using the rightmost button on MtI's "Shader Attrs" toolbar.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:43 am

(NB: looks like the IGM functions in the material database are broken - ignore that comment for now ;) )

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:45 am

dougal2
Gotcha - I guess some people (like me) just need things plainly laid out in front of them. =P

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Sat Apr 19, 2008 12:08 pm

dougal2
Why would mti give me a "no object specified" error as soon as a hit "export scene"?

Post Reply
47 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest