MayaToIndigo Wishlist

Announcements, requests and support regarding the MAYA exporter
User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun May 11, 2008 2:05 am

That's funny, I told you they were to be used in conjunction, both are no competitors ! mtiEdi reads values from shaders in order to provide easier simpler access to their attributes, and this includes indigoShaders !

It's not an alternative but a companion, or if you prefer it only replaces the UI not the node ! But it is true that as a consequence, many users may not use the AE interface just because there will be no need to scroll the panel to access all requested attributes (including indigoShader.material), and it refreshes quickly.

Have I made myself clear, dear dev in chief ? :)

EDIT: I've remembered the right term: it's only a front-end.
obsolete asset

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Mon May 12, 2008 9:32 am

[edit]

I'm changing my priority to MtI itself. I stumpled in front of a black render, and get hit by the fact that I hadn't merged a few mods I did offline; that's why I stated that things were smoother but then I found myself hand editing xml for meshlights again :evil:
obsolete asset

vux
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 1:02 am

Post by vux » Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:22 pm

for render region:
if slect render region in maya render view it return coordinats.

Like this:

setAttr defaultRenderGlobals.left 385;
setAttr defaultRenderGlobals.rght 462;
setAttr defaultRenderGlobals.bot 306;
setAttr defaultRenderGlobals.top 390;


It useful for Indigo render region...

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:09 am

Good point vux :)

There is plenty to do in order to make MtI more user friendly. Shamefully I'm too much of a dabbler to find the motivation when I should.

By now I'm streamlining my workflow with displacement from Maya to Indigo. I felt that many small vids would be better than one big and messy (check it in the Maya and displacement thread). If there is a topic in Maya or MtI you want to be explained better please ask.

Cheers !
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:00 am

vux
thanks, that's useful info.

What i can probably do is remove the region coords from mti_settings and read the values straight from defaultRednerGlobals on export.
(and perhaps have controls on the GUI linked to these vars for convenience - but it's not possible to connect the scriptnode vars directly to defaultRenderGlobals)

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:12 am

Hi Doug,

What I thought (coz I noticed this a few weeks ago :oops: ) was to have a button saying "grab region box", then have the render window with a snapshot (wireframe, try it) popping up and asking for region selection.

Makes sense ?
obsolete asset

Sinister
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:35 am
Location: Ukraine / Kiev
Contact:

Post by Sinister » Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:17 am

guys, can latest relise of MtI (1.0.95_beta3 is latest, isn't is?) work directly with .pigm? or I do something wrong

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:50 am

No, with MtI you can export materials as an IGM file that's all*.

Indigo has the ability to unpack packed files in a specified output folder, see the Command line parameter Reference in documentation pdf. Conversely Indigo can pack a scene with dispatched data into one packed file. For now it's none of MtI features, but that is to put on a todo list for when former progresses are validated (and hem, produced actually).

*Correction: each material in a separate igm file.

Bretik
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:04 am

Re: MayaToIndigo Wishlist

Post by Bretik » Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:13 am

Is possible support Maya Background shader, and nurbs as in other renderer via converting nurbs to polys?

Thanks.

Bretik

Post Reply
24 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest