MtI 0.9 (19 nov 2007 release)

Announcements, requests and support regarding the MAYA exporter
User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:35 am

I understand and agree about your concern with memory usage, hadn't thought about that one.

Maybe the error comes that mti_settings was feeded against an older version of scriptNode, using presets. I should save my presets again with actual version I guess.
REV 157
implemented v1.0.4 camera aperture stuff.
Wow I missed something !
obsolete asset

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:04 am

dougal, you're 2fast4everyone xD
*jealous*

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:31 pm

well, it was the end of the day, only person left in the office.... it's only a few lines of code etc etc :)

actually, I've not put in the obstruction_map thing or whatever it's called yet. Not sure I understand fully what it is either.

User avatar
psor
1st Place Winner
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by psor » Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:12 pm

@dougal2

Well just take the human eye as an example. For an "obstacle_map" you'd
take the shapes of the eye leashes to use as an obstacle! Does it makes sence? ;o))

On a camera lens it could be a hair, or some finger print ... ^^



take care
psor
"The sleeper must awaken"

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:47 pm

ah I see. thanks psor.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:21 am

REV 158

implemented obstacle_map
changed scriptnode version numbers to be integers, starting at 1
removed trailing slashes form paths.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:32 am

REV 159
- changed mti_run.cmd name and location. previous method was causing problems with launching new renders while an animation is active.
It's now a .bat file that contains the name of the scene file, and is written to the same location as the scene file.

(I'm hoping .bat will help bkircher's machine to run it... :? )

- made internal XML display work.
(beware when using fread).

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:57 am

rev 160 / rev 161
just a couple of small bug fixes.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Nov 29, 2007 7:12 am

A bug report, testing video abilities:

http://www.worldparallelftp.com/adam/me ... action.avi
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Thu Nov 29, 2007 7:31 am

you've not upgraded your indigo yet, or the path's you've got in UserPrefs are wrong ;)

I've just done a video on how to install MtI. Will release later if I'm happy with it.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Nov 29, 2007 9:43 am

you've not upgraded your indigo yet
ohw yes... no wonder...

Hehe I was planning that installation video myself; since you started it, you'll finish it :twisted:

Even soundless we can use annotations with CamStudio, do you use a microphone ?
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Thu Nov 29, 2007 9:52 am

yeah, I've got a mic... although the sound goes slightly out of sync towards the end of the video. :x :x


I recorded it 4 times, and still there's a problem. oh well. :evil:

Just compressing it now, you can see in a few minutes :)

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:16 am

can't wait :D

Yep the only way I found to get rid of desync was using PCM (uncompressed, tried that for ingame capture), but it's darn heavy ! Also try to interleave audio in a frame period corresponding with the keyframes (could help a bit I think).

edit: tip: In video options I use Auto Adjust and set value to 40fps, then deactivate AA and divide Set Key Frames Every by two for increased quality.

Image

The best fps is up to your system. I recommend you not to minimize CamStudio when testing encoding tweaks, that way you can see what config gives best fps. I launched a bunch of dummy recording sessions only to watch that number.

Image
Last edited by CTZn on Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:24 am

Actually I think I got it to sync up, but trying to do an edit really messed it up.

So, here's the unedited version... please try not to get too bored while Maya loads :D

I went with the XVid Video/MP3 Audio format. If it works for you, I'll post it in the tutorials forum.

http://www.ftlfm.com/doug/video/mti-01_ ... ng-MtI.avi

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:04 am

Ahah, i'm writing while Maya is launching ;) wow thats huge (you can pause recording in this case).

Just done. I streamed the vid with VLC, worked fine here.

PS: XBMLANGPATH can be used to set icons path as well.
obsolete asset

Post Reply
88 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests