MtI 0.9 (19 nov 2007 release)

Announcements, requests and support regarding the MAYA exporter
bkircher
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:24 am

Post by bkircher » Sat Nov 24, 2007 8:42 pm

Rev. 143

Small Revisions of Icons / GUI (Camera, Sun Icons now updating properly)
Moved "string to bool"-functionality to mti_ModuleTools
Preparing to add Inverse-Transforms / Transforms

I'd prefer we do not export new .obj for animations, except if we've checked against Vertex-Animation, if that's possible.
I expect most animations will be Camera/Particle animations or simple transform-animations (rigid things moving).

Dougal, how do we fix the direct-render stuff ?

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 12:24 am

bkircher wrote:I'd prefer we do not export new .obj for animations, except if we've checked against Vertex-Animation, if that's possible.
yeah that's a good idea, but I don't know if it's possible.
bkircher wrote:Dougal, how do we fix the direct-render stuff ?
Fix what, exactly? I know there's a couple of things to tidy regarding animation export, and the XML code display - I plan to fix that this afternoon. Other than that, I'm not sure what you mean.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:03 am

Re: obj checking for animation...
Bear in mind that even for scaling and rotation, we currently would need to export separate obj files.
If we can start to use the <model> elements properly (which will also solve some instancing issues) then we can move towards optimising the obj file export.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:24 am

REV 146
mti_Gen.mel:
moved saveFolder/saveName into mti_Gen()
- Added animation sanity checks
- Improved console output
- Enabled halt spp in renderer_settings, and removed haltsec and haltspp from the command line.
(should haltX be outside of AdvOptions?)
- Moved model export into mti_ExportModuleModels.mel
- Made ShowXMLOnRender work, added check to disable showing code on animation export


It's looking pretty tidy now, and everything seems to work pretty smoothly.
Can you guys test please?

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:19 am

bk wrote:Preparing to add Inverse-Transforms / Transforms
What is that for ?
Doug wrote:If we can start to use the <model> elements properly (which will also solve some instancing issues)
What issues ?
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:26 am

The issue requiring the instances object to be at the origin for it to work properly.
The issue of having rot=pos=<<0 0 0>> in the model and translation/rotation data in the obj itself. We're not really using <model> correctly.

Anyway, remember that SVN downtime I mentioned a while back... well I'm going offline now for a couple of hours. See you later, if all goes well :)

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:57 am

The issue of having rot=pos=<<0 0 0>> in the model and translation/rotation data in the obj itself. We're not really using <model> correctly
Ah yes that's right, I noticed that.

As for original object in instances, as even without instances it is drawn usin the model tag, then just dont write a model for the original but the copies, or that's going to be something complicated and error prone IMHO.

If the mesh is instanced:
users: leave it untransformed, place instances;
devs: don't write it's own model.

The simpler the better.
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:03 am

Back online...

REV 147

better implementation of <model>:
meshes are translated and rotated to <<0 0 0>>, exported, and then restored to their originl positions.
<pos> and <rotation> are now entered properly in the <model> element.

Split out the rotation matrix conversion routine into it's own proc (is now used in ExportModuleModels as well).

Temporarily disabled IESLight helper, new <model> stuff broke it.

I realise that there are some problems with grouped/parented/nested objects, and that their transforms are relative to their parents, they will not be exported to their correct locations.

We're getting closer, but there's still a thing or two to think about.
(perhaps just instructions to user to un-parent everything prior to exporting?)
Attachments
new_models_instances.jpg
Indigo render overlayed with Maya viewport + text
new_models_instances.jpg (87.43 KiB) Viewed 2939 times

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:03 am

can you auto-unparent it?

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:07 am

Could do, but I found a better solution... it's possible to find the World location of a child object without unparenting it.

REV 148
Fix for exporting correct location/rotations of parented objects.

Fixed cd command in RenderDirect.

Re-enabled IESLocator.. NB, do not duplicate IESLocators, get errors about duplicate mesh names.
Attachments
untitled.xml.png
Each sphere is a child of the sphere to the left. Same with the instance locators.
untitled.xml.png (99.45 KiB) Viewed 2933 times

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 3:33 am

REV 149
bug fixes relating to identically named objects and objects within namespaces.
(use -fullPath on listRelatives, and substitute : for - on obj filenames and mesh names)

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 10:17 am

REV 150
Experimental particle instancing.
Works only for one type of instancer object mode so far, and only for instancing mtiInstanceLocators, even though geometry could be instanced directly.
Particle rotations seem to be off, but I think this is to do with Maya.

short animation to follow....

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:21 am


User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:51 am

REV 151
more work on mti_ExportModuleParticleInstances.mel for rotations... not getting anywhere :(
added TestScenes/particleInstance.ma

Can one of you instance/rotations experts have a look at mti_ExportModuleParticleInstances.mel please? I can't work out which values I'm supposed to be using for rotations, or even if my conversions are correct.
Indigo renders don't match the instance rotations in Maya. I've included my test scene in the SVN so you can see my particle setup.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:07 am

Hi Doug, amazing work ! Am I keeping saying that ? Well that's true then ! For some reason I'm still reluctant to coding. Please bear with that.

I'm no expert in Particles but I know that in some cases you got to create a PP (per particle) attribute before you can use it ! Well if you know that already then the problem is otherwhere (?)...
obsolete asset

Post Reply
88 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests