MtI 0.9 (14 nov 2007 release)

Announcements, requests and support regarding the MAYA exporter
User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 3:27 am

we could use absolute paths to reference the original textures, but the user may want to save the scene onto a network, where the absolute path would be wrong.

better to keep everything relative to the scene files, then they can be moved or used across a network without problems.

BTW:
Attachments
auto_blend.jpg
NO custom Attributes, and NO manual file copying :) :) :)
auto_blend.jpg (148.93 KiB) Viewed 2850 times

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Nov 18, 2007 3:31 am

r115: mainly holds a private message, please acknowledge !
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 3:35 am

yeah, I hear ya.

I'm going to have to re-write a fair bit of it anyway with this new shader impementation. Should be a lot simpler :)

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Nov 18, 2007 4:34 am

Cool coz I can't get blends out of r114, dunno how to add attributes... BTW there are 3 connections between shaders and layered material:

color
transparency
glowColor

is that an issue ? I saw you edited the connexions in your attachment.

Also Maya and Indigo use inverted alpha, one to the other (green goes red in your example). If I am correct you can easily invert blends by swapping shaders A and B.

edit Concerning documentation, feel free to correct any wrong statement I did. Just put a quick howto, I can bother with putting text into shape (Wiki wise if not rtf).
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 4:55 am

CTZn wrote:Also Maya and Indigo use inverted alpha, one to the other (green goes red in your example)
oh shit.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:36 am

:mrgreen:
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:46 am

EDIT: thought that this may have been an indigo bug but, no, it's Maya that's back to front.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:34 am

ok, I've fully implemented multiple-blends now too.

new shader documentation to follow later or tomorrow.
Attachments
multi_blend.jpg
multi_blend.jpg (130.25 KiB) Viewed 2817 times
Last edited by dougal2 on Sun Nov 18, 2007 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 7:23 am

there's no camera bug... i hadn't updated my obj - had "append" on by accident.

grrr. i'm surprised the scene rendered at all!

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 8:43 am

today's further progress:

119 / doug
- Removed /objs and /Textures directories - now auto created.
- Updated Maya to Indigo.rtf with pictures (13MB - sorry! will optimise at some point -- perhaps we just use the Wiki instead?)
- Removed redundant custom Attrs from mti_add_customAttributes_proc.mel and GUI
- small tidying in mti_ExportModuleCamera.mel
- Migrated to new mti_ExportModuleShaders.mel

118 / doug
swap to new module shader.

117 / 7 years [single file update]

116 / doug
mti_ExportModuleObjects.mel:
- auto create objs/folder if it doesn't exist

mti_ExportModuleShaders.mel:
- now totally redundant

mti_ExportModuleShaders2.mel:
- implemented albedo/bump/exponent/blend maps from hypershade. everything is copied auomatically.
- blend materials are still a little broken, use with caution. just needed to commit this before I got too far ahead.

mti_Gen.mel:
- small tidying of XML output.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 11:39 am

OK, last thought for today: I think we should use the Wiki as the main documentation, especially as I want to include a few graphics in it.

CTZn: you seem to be pretty good at wiki editing, can we make that happen?
Attachments
v2Shaders.png
example pic from the manual.
v2Shaders.png (140.94 KiB) Viewed 2801 times

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:41 pm

Yes sure I can have a look at that Doug... when I wake up :)

Looks like you are enjoying your Maya trip !
obsolete asset

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:37 am

Yawn... well... Wow thats big (13MB) ! How comes I see only 3 lil images in rtf while it's so heavy !?

k gonna read the Wiki Syntax page a bit ^^
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:59 am

i dunno... they're probably embedded as BMPs or something stupid.

also, can you let me know if there's anything about the new shader module that isn't either in the docs or obvious to work out? Obviously I feel happy with it because I understand it, but I'm wondering what others will make of it.

i'm off to work now for a few hours, but i'll be back later to help out.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:10 am

dunno... they're probably embedded as BMPs or something stupid.
Yes, now I've seen that they also are bigger than they appear in rtf, nevermind. Still I don't like this format, or Wordpad either :)

Edited wiki: Text + image + direct support. Check it in case I dismissed something.
For now, please don’t blend your blend materials, as there is no dependency checking – but feel free to do it if you are willing perhaps to manually re-order sections of the generated XML so that all materials are given in order.
Is that true ? I thought I read the contrary from you recently ?

bkircher, I'm a bit anxious because we lack doc input for your work, bear in mind that undocumented features are likely not to be used. That said enjoy your week-end !

'later
obsolete asset

Post Reply
35 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest