Specular material help

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Cinema 4D exporter
okazaky
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:30 am

Specular material help

Post by okazaky » Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:36 am

I've got a little problem regarding specular materials. I want to create a material like this one: http://elqx.com/indmatdb/inc/imgs/image ... .jpg&s=220

In the attached testscene (R 9.6 file format) are three tests but I don't get such a material.
Can anybody help me?

Best regards,
okazaky
Attachments
testscene.zip
(98.19 KiB) Downloaded 230 times
kugeltest.jpg
kugeltest.jpg (117.17 KiB) Viewed 4771 times

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Fri Jun 22, 2007 7:04 am


User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3554
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:32 am

if you still dont get similar results as arnes mats check your scale.

your objects may be way too small

okazaky
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:30 am

Post by okazaky » Fri Jun 22, 2007 9:24 pm

Thanks for the quick help. I will try to play around with the scale later :)

EDIT:
Thanks again, works very well with kilometers instead of centimeters in the units setup!

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Sat Jun 23, 2007 4:40 am

xD KILOMETERS? that's quite much...

okazaky
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:30 am

Post by okazaky » Sat Jun 23, 2007 4:45 am

Yep, but meters unfortunately also don't work for me :(

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Sat Jun 23, 2007 4:46 am

strang xD
how can that be?

okazaky
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:30 am

Post by okazaky » Sat Jun 23, 2007 4:57 am

Here's another test with a specular material.

Units: kilometers
sphere 1 size: 73.425 km
sphere 2 size: 124.785 km
sphere 3 size: 198.348 km

every sphere uses the same material.

The bigger the spheres get, the less transparent and the more colorful they get. Is this a bug or am I totally wrong in the way of setting up the scene?

regards,
okazaky
Attachments
test2.jpg
test2.jpg (37.37 KiB) Viewed 4670 times

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:09 am

no, that's simply the problem, you have - it's the point, why you don't get a visible colour with cm or m...

Absorbtion is the (amount of light, absorbet per meters)^-1 (= meters, where an amount of light is absorbed)

and you set it extremely low - can't even be absorbtion 1 xD
that would look less transparent, in so many kilometers.
It's simply realism ;)

Example: If you have about 1l Milk, in a bottle, can you see through it?
But if you have that l on a big milk-varnish - can you see through it, then?

Ok, not the BEST excample, as Milk also has SSS... but it should show you the point, anyway. ;)

okazaky
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:30 am

Post by okazaky » Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:23 am

That sounds very logical :wink:
But in reality there are also very small objects that can be very intransparent (for example some kind of marbles)
There is not a way do create something like this at the moment?

regards,
okazaky

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:26 am

yes, I know....
actually, ANY object has SSS... so, even a brick has light trespassing.

But it's your settings, that must be completely wrong ;)
I guess, the absorbtion is in 0-1 range + a multiplier...

which Prog which Exporter?
Blendigo has a "Gain" Value, next to several things. It EVER is a simple Multiplier ;)

okazaky
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:30 am

Post by okazaky » Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:30 am

I'm using Cinema 4D & Cindigo. Here's a screenshot from the material settings tab ;)
Attachments
settings.jpg
settings.jpg (75.08 KiB) Viewed 4654 times

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:08 am

I see...
obviously, it needs a gain-value, or anything like that.
I wonder, how it was done, by now... as it shouldn't be too hard to request that.
Maybe, you have to also use uniformal Absorption Coefficient? That may act as a multiplier, if it's unused.... -> values like "0" wont give any absorbtion at all ;)

okazaky
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:30 am

Post by okazaky » Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:56 am

Hmm, doesn't make any difference. I tested a value of 5, 100 and 15000. The render always looks like the one I posted before :(

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3554
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Sat Jun 23, 2007 8:13 am

strange...

Post Reply
26 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest