Page 1 of 1

Moving Lights in C4D

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:16 pm
by roskilla23º
Hello guys! I'm having some troubles with lights and the movement of those.

When I try to animate some of the lights using OpenCL GPU, like going from point A to point B, the physical light shows with motion blur and everything ok but it doesn't light the scene. You just see the white "bulb", but doesn't light anything.
BUT when I use the CPU rendering it shows everything as it should be.

I'm constantly having troubles and different results with OpenCL vs CPU, specially when using lights.... Any ideas how to solve this? I like how CPU looks but GPU is 20 times faster rendering than CPU, and at the end that's what matters the most.

I'm running C4D on MacOSX 10.13. 2013 Macpro 3,5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 and 2X AMD FirePro D500 3072 MB

Thanks in advance! Best!

Re: Moving Lights in C4D

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 2:52 pm
by OnoSendai
Hi,
Can you send a frame of your animation as a PIGS (packed indigo scene) to support@indigorenderer.com?

You could also post a render here.

Re: Moving Lights in C4D

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:07 am
by Oscar J
Did you compare Pathtracing (CPU) with Pathtracing(GPU)?

Re: Moving Lights in C4D

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 3:55 am
by zeitmeister
Confirmed here. Latest Indigo (4.2.23) & Cindigo (4.2.22):
moving_light_gpu_bug.pigs
(6.27 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
CPU:
pt_cpu.jpg
GPU:
pt_gpu.jpg
Holy moly.
C4D-scene:
moving_light_gpu_bug.zip
(195.69 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
iMac with old ATI Radeon 5750.

Re: Moving Lights in C4D

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 5:09 am
by roskilla23º
As David explains, it happens the same to me. Same with the latest beta version for C4D. I've tried both rendering in C4D and Standalone Indigo RT.


CPU:
CPU render.jpg
GPU:
GPU render.jpg
I also Attach the IGS FIle here:
GPU render.igs
(241.89 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

Re: Moving Lights in C4D

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:14 am
by Zom-B
Hey guys,

it seems Indigo hass issues with MotionBlur on Emitters, turning off MoBlur "fixes" it.
Your scene roskilla23º seems to suffer from low raydepth?!
You attached a igs that only contains the scene description without meshes, textures and so on. save your file as pigs, the p stands for packed ;)

Re: Moving Lights in C4D

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:24 pm
by roskilla23º
Thanks for you help Zoom-B! It seems like turning that off fixes the problem by now.
I'm pretty new to Indigo renderer and C4D and having so little information and tutorials online doesn't help a lot..

Can you explain me a bit more abut the Low Raydepth? Is it the transmission of light on the interior of the car, or something like that?

Thanks again guys for the help!

Re: Moving Lights in C4D

Posted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:16 pm
by Zom-B
Hey roskilla23º,

In your car for example a ray that enters the window, hits interior and gets reflected towards the camera trespassing the window again would already use a raydepth of 3.

Wouldn't it be 5? A ray passing through glass with thickness would use one "bounce" entering the medium and one exiting it, if I'm not mistaken.