light layers

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Cinema 4D exporter
Tyler

light layers

Post by Tyler » Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:19 pm

Hi everybody,

i'm new to indigo (i just give it a try) and i'm very impressed, i would love to have a nice plugin for maya but that's ok, i'm trying it with c4d.

my issue is i struggle to have the light layers working, i've tried different workflows ( material with emitter, light tag, etc), the lights are on the correct layers in the render window but the cursor only allow me to have the light on or off, no nice and smooth intensity light setting.

it's been now more thant 3 hours that i'm looking everywhere i can on the web and i cannot find any tutorial or explanation of the exact steps to make it work and i'm going to get mad, i have to say the manual for indigo and c4d is very short also.

could someone explain what setting i have to apply or a workflow to finally test this very cool feature?

and btw, this indigo, besides i already love this engine (i was using maxwell before) is damn FAST!!!

Tyler

thesquirell

Re: light layers

Post by thesquirell » Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:52 am

Welcome, Tyler! Few years ago I also made a leap from Maxwell to Indigo, and the love grows stronger with every new project! Also, congrats on the choice, C4D has the best plug-in so far.

Now, if you are into light tweaking, for starters, please make sure that you are NOT using Reinhard tonemapping method. We can then take it from there.

Tyler

Post by Tyler » Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:04 am

hey! thank you!
finally someone who doesn't ignore my post;) thank you for your answer.
ok, no Reinhard, but, there's no explicit tutorial about how lights and light layers works with indigo?? i have to dig for a small tip here and a small info there (plus often totally opposite advices..) nothing to cover this really, everybody knows light is crucial with a rendering engine no??