Indigo 0.6 test 1

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6241
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Indigo 0.6 test 1

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Jul 20, 2006 1:33 am

hey all, new release time.
I wanted to get the Multithreaded stuff out the door... because... well, it's just so cool (IMHO :))

http://www.indigorenderer.com/montecarl ... _test1.zip

This is a stand-alone release, it includes all necessary files.
As usual, I may have broken some stuff, so keep an eye out :)

So Indigo is now fully multithreaded.. you can run an arbitrary number of threads per process.

Scene file changes:
Just one minor one, but it will break most scenes:
The background element now should only have 1 child, a spectrum element.
So e.g.

Code: Select all

	<background>
		<radiance>1 1 1</radiance>
	</background>
should be changed to

Code: Select all

     <background>
		<spectrum>
			<rgb>
				<rgb>1 1 1</rgb>
			</rgb>
		</spectrum>
	</background>
Also you can now have only one of background, skylight, or env_map.
If you want a black background, don't include a background element.

changelog:

* speedup with phong pow()s
* added bump mapping for specular mat
* Added multithreading
* Added -t switch to specify number of threads.
* nice error message on out of mem while building kdtree
* using doubles for pdf and radiance stuff
* added colour correction
* background element now takes a single spectrum child element
* can now have only one of background, skylight, or env_map
* made window size equal to render size
* changed default sky gain to 0.002
* changed bidir RR live prob
* decreased num warmup mutations by half
Last edited by OnoSendai on Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4700
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo 0.6 test 1

Post by Zom-B » Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:16 am

Ono-Sendai wrote:hey all, new release time.
I wanted to get the Multithreaded stuff out the door... because... well, it's just so cool (IMHO :))
This is so cool!!!!!!! :D
Thanks a lot for your hard work dude!

*now testing

yponomos
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 5:38 am

Post by yponomos » Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:30 am

great work!

User avatar
tungee
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 8:17 pm
Location: Gießen Germany

Post by tungee » Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:10 am

thanx ono!
it was so silent the two last weeks!

User avatar
psor
1st Place Winner
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by psor » Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:28 am

Thanx a lot for this fine update! ;o))


take care
psor

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4700
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Benchmarks...

Post by Zom-B » Thu Jul 20, 2006 12:35 pm

I did some quick & dirty benchmarks to test multithreting in 0.6 test 1:

I own a AMD X2 3.800+
1 Core 100%

2 Cores - 1 thread ~116%
2 Cores - 2 thread ~210%
2 Cores - 3 thread ~215%
Indigo seems to use my second Core also even if only 1 thread is defined.
Always when the log File gets Updated the second Core uses 10 to 15%.

I also recogniced, that using 3 threads raises Indigos Performance on my machine even more :shock:

Can somebody confirm my conclusions?

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6241
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:12 pm

Well, when you set it to one thread, that means one thread that runs the MLT process, and another thread that does the tonemapping, gamma correction and display of the image buffer, which does take significant computation.
So it's really two threads.

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6241
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Jul 20, 2006 6:31 pm

Yeah.. i hacked a ~1.1 multiplier on the green component so that white actually maps to white under the sRGB etc.. transform.

yponomos
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 5:38 am

Post by yponomos » Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:09 pm

ono, can i ask something? can you send these kind of announcements
also by e-mail to the forum members? thus, we'll know immediately
when a new version is posted...

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6241
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Jul 20, 2006 11:52 pm

yponomos wrote:ono, can i ask something? can you send these kind of announcements
also by e-mail to the forum members? thus, we'll know immediately
when a new version is posted...
Heh.. I think that would annoy too many people... especially if i get up to v0.6test7 :)

User avatar
Xman
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: Guangdong-China

Post by Xman » Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:16 am

thank Nick,
:D Very great work
Intel i7-920,RAM 3G ,GeForce 9800GTX+.

User avatar
u3dreal
Posts: 346
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:36 am

Post by u3dreal » Fri Jul 21, 2006 3:07 am

Excellent as always..

I'm on the exporter.

Will colorcorrection work like before in the xml .. ?

Did the blend stuff go in there as well ?
So maybe i could do a blend mat for M2I..?

cheers

u3dreal ;)

User avatar
Phoenix
Indigo 100
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:15 am
Contact:

Post by Phoenix » Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:52 am

Hey, great!

Thx for the new version Nick! 8)

And except for multithreading and all the other new feartures also for:
* made window size equal to render size
But:
Is it really correct, that the <rgb>, </rgb> stuff in <background> have to be defined twice?
<background>
<spectrum>
<rgb>
<rgb>1 1 1</rgb>
</rgb>
</spectrum>
</background>
Kind regards,
Tom

User avatar
jurasek
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:23 pm
Location: Poland

Post by jurasek » Sat Jul 22, 2006 6:20 am

Dosen't work with Wine under Linux? Black screen all the time and there is no change in the .png file while rendering:(

greetz,
jurasek

User avatar
mzungu
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:21 am
Location: Arkansas, USA
Contact:

Post by mzungu » Tue Jul 25, 2006 10:23 am

Not able to get <env_map> to work with this release.

I've tried:
  • exr's for both spherical & latlong (converted with hdr2env)
  • & same for .float/.raw (converted from hdr with hdrshop)
  • using the common kitchen_probe.hdr as well as others (for latlongs)...
consistently gives me this error dialog:
Image

I hope its just something I'm doing wrong...
-mzungu
"The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom" - Solomon

Post Reply
48 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests