Indigo 1.1.2

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
User avatar
rgigante
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:46 am
Location: Italy

Post by rgigante » Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:52 pm

Code: Select all

<merge_vertices_with_same_pos_and_normal>true</merge_vertices_with_same_pos_and_normal>
could make our life easier ;) btw...

Thanks for the new release.

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Post by pixie » Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:29 am

like <merge_vertices>? :-P

User avatar
cpfresh
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Post by cpfresh » Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:21 am

Thanks, Ono! :)

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6196
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:31 am

Updated with link to 64 bit build.

BbB
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:28 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by BbB » Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:37 am

Now that's wonderful news!

User avatar
drBouvierLeduc
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:32 am
Location: france

Post by drBouvierLeduc » Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:38 am

64 bits, yeah ! Now let's render !

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6196
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:38 am

:)

I'm looking forward to seeing what you can do with it :)

If you spot any problems with normals, uv coordinates, etc... let me know.

User avatar
alexmeyer
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:55 am
Contact:

Post by alexmeyer » Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:58 am

Umm... it just crashed on me when trying to do a displacement test. It got to "Doing subdivision level 0" and crashed ("indigo.exe has encountered a problem, blah blah"). Works fine in 1.1.1 though.

The scene is just a UV sphere, with max num subdiv set to 2, and an FBM displace (I don't think it'll work anyway, because I didn't set up the UVs, but that doesn't explain the crash). Exported out of Blendigo 1.1.1.

Scene file attached if you want it.
Attachments
default.igs
(141.89 KiB) Downloaded 148 times
From uncyclopedia.org, on "Elephant's Dream":

"The choice of the title is highly significant, because while the movie does not feature any elephants nor dreams, no one understands what happens anyway."

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6196
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:08 am

I think it's crashing because there are no UV's.
Thanks for pointing that out.

User avatar
alexmeyer
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:55 am
Contact:

Post by alexmeyer » Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:10 am

Ok, I wondered if that was the problem, but figured you should know about the crashing.
From uncyclopedia.org, on "Elephant's Dream":

"The choice of the title is highly significant, because while the movie does not feature any elephants nor dreams, no one understands what happens anyway."

User avatar
Whaat
Developer
Posts: 1827
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:15 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Whaat » Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:22 am

thanks ono! did you fix the issues with fbm procedural textures?

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6196
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:24 am

no, not yet.

User avatar
aleksandera
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:49 pm
Location: Slovenia

Post by aleksandera » Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:58 am

I tried my sss testscene.
It didn't go black yet.
I hope it will clean up before it does that.
Somehow I have that feeling that it whont
:(
However it looks better than before.

Thx and regards!

Aleksander
Attachments
im1212493662.png
im1212493662.png (316.11 KiB) Viewed 2755 times

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:23 am

BbB wrote:There you go.
This is a smoothed, low-poly sphere with a diffuse mat and bump map. Rendered with 1.0.9_3
I'm also attaching the scene.
Does it work without bump? I managed to do this in Blender Internal, too. (With the same way to solve it by adding subD) - though I didn't check where it comes from. I just kinda think, it should also happen without bump...

BbB
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:28 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by BbB » Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:44 am

As far as I can remember yes. But I didn't check this time.

Post Reply
63 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Bot] and 5 guests