Indigo 0.9 test 5 (x86 and x64 builds)

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
User avatar
Kosmokrator
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:52 am
Location: Greece-Athens

Post by Kosmokrator » Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:05 am

generally microsoft kram1032...our systems based on ms software...and indigo lids and bin code too.....so...its some MS mess with dlls and libs....

Ono...i think its easy to find a virgin XP system....Make a partition in your disk and instal a fresh copy of xp to test what happents here...
1)Core i7 965XE stock CLOCK ,PSU:CHIEFTEC 850W
M/B ASUS P6T DELUXE,WATERCOOLING ZALMAN RESERATOR 2
MEMORY:6GB CORRSAIR @1600,Ati HD 4870x2,
MONITOR:LG 1950SQ,CASE:THERMALTAKE SOPRANO

mrCarnivore
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:20 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Post by mrCarnivore » Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:12 am

The sss bug is still there!

User avatar
Camox
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 587
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 5:28 am
Location: Berlin Germany
Contact:

Post by Camox » Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:17 am

ZomB wrote:Maybe Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Redistributable Package (x86) is needed... give it a try Camox.
I have it new installed and the same error :cry:
Attachments
error.gif
error.gif (79.97 KiB) Viewed 4190 times

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:38 am

*translating*
This application couldn't have been started, 'cause it's configuration isn't correct. To fix the problem, you should reinstall the application.


Indeed not very helpful....

User avatar
Camox
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 587
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 5:28 am
Location: Berlin Germany
Contact:

Post by Camox » Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:52 am

thx kram, my personal translator ! :D

greetz

User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Post by zsouthboy » Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:04 am

Ono, install VMware Server or Virtual PC (they're both free) - and create a "virgin" XP install in there, for testing of things.

You can set it up so that ANY changes made are not saved to disk - e.g. you start a fresh install, every single time you boot the virtual pc.

EDIT:
While I'm talking about it anyway, lemme chime in with this:

All my dev tools and such are installed in a VPC image - so all my coding is done in a virtual pc.

That way I can bring the exact environment to anywhere, and get stuff done.

It is indeed slower than native, but I spend the majority of my time typing in an IDE, so it doesn't slow me down ;) The benefits outweigh the slowness.

Every once in a while, I simply copy the VPC image to a backup place of some sort, and then I have backups of everything and anything I did, without having to deal with versions and other bullshit.

It really is quite great :) I highly recommend it.

User avatar
deltaepsylon
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:50 pm

Post by deltaepsylon » Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:08 am

gah... right when i get my computer taken away, ono decides to release t5 ... :(

richie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 3:47 am
Location: Neoules, France

Post by richie » Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:31 am

same error here (in french) on winXp, 32 bit (x86) distribution

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4676
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Post by Zom-B » Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:32 pm

Ok, now I can confirm this error too, tested on my girlfriends Laptop WinXP home SP2 32bit... :(
The Laptop + System is about 1/2 year old, and only used for Internet, music, picture viewing and Office related stuff.

BTW: I discovered, that Network rendering is possible between diferent Indigo versions.
Perhaps something that should be prevented...
Last edited by Zom-B on Sat Aug 11, 2007 1:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
polygonmanufaktur.de

Wedge
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:33 am
Location: East Coast, USA

Post by Wedge » Sat Aug 11, 2007 1:01 pm

Hello,

Just opened the 32 bit version ok here on my old pc running WinXP. Not anything special about my pc, I keep it updated if that helps. Thanks for this release, it is about time I render a nice scene soon. :)
Content contained in my posts is for informational purposes only and is used at your own risk.

User avatar
CoolColJ
Posts: 1734
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 1:47 pm

Post by CoolColJ » Sat Aug 11, 2007 1:15 pm

32 bit version working fine here, resuming a render right now :)

User avatar
Xman
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: Guangdong-China

Post by Xman » Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:05 pm

Similar Vulture,have a similar problem. :(
Win XP 32 bit ,AMD X2 3800 dual core CPU and 1Gb memory.
Attachments
01.jpg
01.jpg (69.3 KiB) Viewed 3960 times
Intel i7-920,RAM 3G ,GeForce 9800GTX+.

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:11 pm

Tested on another Xp 32bit with SP2 - works fine. Very strange that it doesn't for some.

Anyway. It really is faster even with simple scenes.
I did a 2 min test with cornell box.

test4: 11.62500 samples per pixel
test5: 12.43750 samples per pixel

Good work Ono! Indigo is geting better and better.

ribo
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:37 am

Post by ribo » Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:18 am

32 bit distribution working fine, but I get the above mentioned error message for 64 bit.

I am in Win XP 64-bit with SP2.

Thanks Ono for your great work.

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6184
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:23 am

Hi.
If the normal 32 bit build is not working, try downloading this:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

For the 64 bit builds, try downloading this:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

Please let me know if that works.[/url]

Post Reply
59 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests