Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
Post Reply
14 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by OnoSendai » Fri May 26, 2017 12:33 am

This is a Beta release.
If you spot any bugs or problems, please make a post about them in this thread.
Thanks!

Indigo for Windows 64-bit:
IndigoRenderer_x64_4.0.53_Setup.exe

Indigo for Linux 64-bit:
IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.53.tar.gz

Indigo for Mac OS X (10.7 - ):
IndigoRenderer4.0.53.dmg


Indigo RT for Windows 64-bit:
IndigoRT_x64_4.0.53_Setup.exe

Indigo RT for Linux 64-bit:
IndigoRT_x64_v4.0.53.tar.gz

Indigo RT for Mac OS X (10.7 - ):
IndigoRT4.0.53.dmg

Changelog:
4.0.53
* Fixed crash with orthographic camera and bidir.
* Improved speed of bidir a little.
* Added support for orthographic cameras back to the OpenGL preview.
* Fixed crash when rendering material previews with the non-default scene.
* Fixed object picking sometimes picking the wrong object.
* Changed minimum JPEG quality to 75.
* Fixed --tonemap not working properly.

User avatar
Originalplan®
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:58 pm
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by Originalplan® » Sat May 27, 2017 7:48 pm

!!!

User avatar
bubs
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:46 pm
Location: UK

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by bubs » Sun May 28, 2017 1:52 am

Is there an issue here with 'assign material'? I don't seem to be able to change materials within the render...

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by OnoSendai » Sun May 28, 2017 2:23 am

bubs wrote:Is there an issue here with 'assign material'? I don't seem to be able to change materials within the render...
It's entirely possible I broke some aspect of that, was changing that stuff. However it seems to work here for me. Can you email us a PIGS showing the problem with instructions on how to replicate the issue?

Thanks,
Nick

burnin
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by burnin » Mon May 29, 2017 2:23 am

Hm... IDK... glitches or bugs? ;)

- can't resize the graph in spectrum editor (editor itself can be resized)
spectrumEditor.jpg
- when hovering over rendered image, 1 pixel frame is shown around and it feels as bleeding into the rendered image, very distracting
rendered frame.jpg
Refreshing problems:
- clamping is non consistent dependent on Tone Mapping Method, Render Engine & using either CPU or GPU rendering
- updating rendered image render often times doesn't work as expected - i.e. often times only starts rendering again while everything else stays same
- often times fresnel glitches, switching engines or processing unit resolves an issue
fresnelGlitch.jpg
&BTW (OT) :)
Blender exporter has become painful to use in comparison to other exporters (corona, lux, prman): no development since v3 days, no preview whatsoever, long export times... forces user/artist to have strong mental visualization capabilities (old school) tho, as of late clients get extremely fast sick of words & promises, they admire only images, real-time view is as is light to a moth - since the engine is extremely fast (+ spectral), thus lacking previews (good Blender integration) is very efficient turnoff. Neither there's a Houdini exporter.

Otherwise great work on the engine, wish i could join the challenge but these issues have diminished my motivation (similar to what maxwell did with v4, stayed on v3 & rarely used it in the past year).

no hard feelings, just my personal opinion

EDIT:
Been long out, so after some more fiddling, finally got a bit of a grip back :D
- Blue frame/border line is really distracting, especially on dark UI - maybe toggle ON/OFF or color selection
- another distraction is happening when scrolling up & down, accidentally landing on value input changes the value, thus running render from start
- can't "," on numerical keyboard be used as a comma?
- is it impossible to copy/paste textures & colors over different slots/channels?
- drop down menu UI approach is becoming time consuming (option for tabs or floating windows maybe?)
- any way to get scene file stats (sizes, unit effeciency, mem. consumption...) to show somewhere (not the console)? Found it - under Render Settings facepalm
- camera vignette settings are not in the Studio?
- are you considering on implementing denoiser?

None the less, amazing... got the motivation back, thank you!
:D

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2174
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by Oscar J » Mon May 29, 2017 8:40 am

burnin: The blue border is normally not there. Probably you've enabled region render somewhere, possibly you have a border in blender before export?

burnin
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by burnin » Mon May 29, 2017 9:54 am

Oscar J wrote:burnin: The blue border is normally not there. Probably you've enabled region render somewhere, possibly you have a border in blender before export?
Oh... :) true that, i have border always checked in blender (for camera preview sake).
Thank you for that precious little info! :D

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by Pibuz » Mon May 29, 2017 7:54 pm

I have a little suggestion to give: could be VERY useful to have the specification of the plugin release number in the Indigo installer main window, so we can check if we already have an up-to-date version already installed.

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by OnoSendai » Wed May 31, 2017 1:10 am

Pibuz wrote:I have a little suggestion to give: could be VERY useful to have the specification of the plugin release number in the Indigo installer main window, so we can check if we already have an up-to-date version already installed.
You can check the Indigo version you have installed by opening the about dialog: Help > About.

Or do you mean something else?

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by Pibuz » Wed May 31, 2017 2:27 am

Hi Ono! I meant: explicitate the PLUGIN version embedded in the main Indigo installer, where you have all the checks. This way we can always aware of which version of the plugin (say Skindigo) we are installing automatically with the Indigo installer, so we can directly uncheck the installation if we already installed a version (even an updated version).

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by zeitmeister » Wed May 31, 2017 3:23 am

Very nice!
It's so lightning fast...

One thing I don't understand: Why is it not possible to force updating image via button in GPU mode?

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by OnoSendai » Wed May 31, 2017 3:26 am

zeitmeister wrote:Very nice!
It's so lightning fast...

One thing I don't understand: Why is it not possible to force updating image via button in GPU mode?
GPU rendering does a complete 'render pass' before it can show something new.
Or do you mean with network rendering?

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by OnoSendai » Wed May 31, 2017 3:33 am

Pibuz wrote:Hi Ono! I meant: explicitate the PLUGIN version embedded in the main Indigo installer, where you have all the checks. This way we can always aware of which version of the plugin (say Skindigo) we are installing automatically with the Indigo installer, so we can directly uncheck the installation if we already installed a version (even an updated version).
Ah I see, that's a good idea.

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.53 Beta Release

Post by zeitmeister » Wed May 31, 2017 5:20 pm

OnoSendai wrote:
zeitmeister wrote:Very nice!
It's so lightning fast...

One thing I don't understand: Why is it not possible to force updating image via button in GPU mode?
GPU rendering does a complete 'render pass' before it can show something new.
Or do you mean with network rendering?
No, that's what I meant. Thank you for clearence!


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk

Post Reply
14 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests