Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
User avatar
arc en ciel
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:33 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by arc en ciel » Sat Jun 18, 2016 4:40 am

yo,
when activating Clamp contributions, in GPU mode using 2 units, some squares are present in the picture (randomly)
if only one gpu is on it's ok
if clamp is off and 2 gpus are on it's ok
Attachments
damier.jpg

User avatar
contegufo
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:41 am
Location: Lucca ITALY

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by contegufo » Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:06 am

Contributions clamp is equivalent to denoise of Renderman and other render engine?

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by CTZn » Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:07 am

Did you try 1 unit with two GPUs ? Maybe they scale together ? I'm asking in the dark.

User avatar
arc en ciel
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:33 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by arc en ciel » Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:24 am

je suis pas sûr de ce que tu demandes, là... regarde la copie d'écran ci-dessus, il y a 2 contrôleurs gpu distincts, si j'active les 2 avec le clamp ça fais le damier, un seul gpu actif avec clamp c'est bon, que ce soit l'un ou l'autre gpu
1 unit = one GPU in my mind
I have two units inside this machine, if both are running and clamp is activated, i got check pattern, sometimes after 2/3 mins that dissapear but sometimes not

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by CTZn » Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:41 am

arc en ciel wrote:je suis pas sûr de ce que tu demandes, là... regarde la copie d'écran ci-dessus, il y a 2 contrôleurs gpu distincts, si j'active les 2 avec le clamp ça fais le damier, un seul gpu actif avec clamp c'est bon, que ce soit l'un ou l'autre gpu
1 unit = one GPU in my mind
I have two units inside this machine, if both are running and clamp is activated, i got check pattern, sometimes after 2/3 mins that dissapear but sometimes not
My bad, I assumed this
Added controls to mode configuration area in render settings.
meant contribution clamping was sort of a parametric option, which setting I inferred to be susceptible to scaling with the number of GPU units running.
Sorry, that's what it is to shoot in the dark !

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by zeitmeister » Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:50 am

Very cool Ono!!


Cheers, zeiti

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2197
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by Oscar J » Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:18 am

The GPU renderer uses tile rendering internally, and it seems there might be a problem with the brightness of the tiles when multi-GPU-rendering + clamping.

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2197
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by Oscar J » Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:32 am

pixie wrote:
Zom-B wrote:Me too..... don't turn it on!!!! its my new favourite setting... myyyyy precious! :D
kkkk

BTW, through an hack I've made light layers to work on gpu, one must render it first on cpu, tweak the igs file so that it sets gpu, and then one resume the render and presto! Light layers!
You hacker! :D I'm quite surprised that works to be honest.

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2255
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by pixie » Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:37 am

Oscar J wrote:
pixie wrote:
Zom-B wrote:Me too..... don't turn it on!!!! its my new favourite setting... myyyyy precious! :D
kkkk

BTW, through an hack I've made light layers to work on gpu, one must render it first on cpu, tweak the igs file so that it sets gpu, and then one resume the render and presto! Light layers!
You hacker! :D I'm quite surprised that works to be honest.
So was I, namely because now I can't get the scene to load in neither windows linux or osx (fresh scene).

User avatar
contegufo
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:41 am
Location: Lucca ITALY

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by contegufo » Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:10 pm

Hi

This scene is particularly suitable to test the novelty "Clamp Contributions".
Transparencies, reflections, refractions, colored shadows, glass material, and caustics. Sunlight hours pm. 14.30 yesterday the local meridian. Clamp contributions, active, Max contribution = 100.
Well fireflies are not there!
Attachments
glass-clamp.jpg

User avatar
Jay-ko
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by Jay-ko » Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:49 pm

Could we have the "math" under clamp contribution?

My goal is to understand how far is an unbiased image with that parameter.

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2255
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by pixie » Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:46 pm

Jay-ko wrote:Could we have the "math" under clamp contribution?

My goal is to understand how far is an unbiased image with that parameter.
Create a specular material and set the desired value, compare it with the default, you'll see that the higlights will be dimmer. I don't know if that answers your question, but the practical effect is that it will 'wash' away the light reflections.

PS- having made the test I see that it does a bit more than dim the high lights, the specular itself gets darker.
Attachments
clampcontributions.png
mix
clampcontributionsGPU.gif
GPU>CPU>CPU(nc)>GPU(nc)
clampcontributions.gif
CPU>CPU(nc)

User avatar
Jay-ko
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by Jay-ko » Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:54 am

@pixie> anyway, this very interresting. thank you!


I found a new feature from my side :p, afer a resume:
Then I opened the same igi file with 3.8.23 and I can save png and jpg without surprises.
Attachments
PrtScr capture_2.jpg
PrtScr capture.jpg

User avatar
Originalplan®
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:58 pm
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by Originalplan® » Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:16 am

BUG OSX :Transparent materials (if the have color ((tabulated data)) to them ) lose the color data if rendered on GPU.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.38 Beta Release

Post by Zom-B » Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:05 pm

Originalplan® wrote:BUG OSX :Transparent materials (if the have color ((tabulated data)) to them ) lose the color data if rendered on GPU.
yes, tabulated data is one of the few things still not running on the GPU.
Its not a bug, but a missing feature :D

Post Reply
51 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest