Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2167
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by Oscar J » Tue Apr 12, 2016 8:15 pm

Not that there's anything wrong with comparing with Octane - that's actually a good thing. But those Octane scenes have 140k and 900k triangles respectively, while Arthur's scene has over 5M. Furthermore Arthur's scene has a lot of materials and textures. Your heavier scene uses about 250 MB of video RAM, while Arthur's scene uses about 1.3 GB.

There's a good chance of more optimising that will make your cards work, but for now - perhaps try some simpler scenes? Perhaps the same scenes you rendered in Octane?

Prof4D
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:04 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by Prof4D » Tue Apr 12, 2016 8:40 pm

Zom-B I don't need your answers.
I do ask that they pay developers?

Why doesn't GPU GF460 and 660?
Maybe I someone to give a concrete answer.

may configuration

GPU not working
GTX 460 2GB GDDR5 256bit
OpenGL 4.1

my 2600K CPU supports the instruction

MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, EM64T, VT-x, AES, AVX
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Driver version: 364.72

Report on the NVIDIA system created: 04/12/2016 11:08:50
System name: 3DSERGEY-PC

[Display]
Operating system: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (Service Pack 1)
DirectX Version: 11.0
Graphics processor: GeForce GTX 460
Driver version: 364.72
Direct3D API version: 11
The Direct3D feature level: 11_0
CUDA cores: 336
Clock frequency core: 700 MHz
Clock frequency Shader: 1400 MHz
Data transfer rate memory: 3600 MHz
Memory interface: 256 bit
Memory bandwidth: 115.20 GB/s
Available graphics memory: 4095 MB
Dedicated video memory: 2048 MB GDDR5
System video memory: 0 MB
Shared system memory: 2047 MB
Video BIOS version: 70.04.13.00.01
IRQ: Not used
Bus: PCI Express x8 Gen2
Device ID: 10DE 0E22 00000000
Set number: 1041 0001

NvGFTrayPluginr.dll 2.11.2.55 NVIDIA GeForce Experience
NvGFTrayPlugin.dll 2.11.2.55 NVIDIA GeForce Experience
nvui.dll 8.17.13.6472 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdsync.exe 8.17.13.6472 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdplcy.dll 8.17.13.6472 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdbat.dll 8.17.13.6472 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdapix.dll 8.17.13.6472 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
NVCPL.DLL 8.17.13.6472 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvCplUIR.dll 8.1.810.0 NVIDIA Control Panel
nvCplUI.exe 8.1.810.0 NVIDIA Control Panel
nvWSSR.dll 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA Workstation Server
nvWSS.dll 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA Workstation Server
PhysX 09.15.0428 NVIDIA PhysX
NVCUDA.DLL 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA CUDA 8.0.0 driver
nvGameSR.dll 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA 3D Settings Server
nvGameS.dll 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA 3D Settings Server
nvLicensingS.dll 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA Licensing Server
NVSTVIEW.EXE 7.17.13.6472 NVIDIA 3D Vision Photo Viewer
NVSTTEST.EXE 7.17.13.6472 NVIDIA 3D Vision Test Application
NVSTRES.DLL 7.17.13.6472 NVIDIA 3D Vision Module
nvDispSR.dll 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA Display Server
NVMCTRAY.DLL 8.17.13.6472 NVIDIA Media Center Library
nvDispS.dll 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA Display Server
nvViTvSR.dll 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA Video Server
nvViTvS.dll 6.14.13.6472 NVIDIA Video Server

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Before writing I do compare Oktan Render as the fastest and Indigo.
But I'm trying to ask the question why doesn't GPU GF460

davide445
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by davide445 » Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:02 pm

Prof4D wrote:Zom-B I don't need your answers.
I do ask that they pay developers?

Why doesn't GPU GF460 and 660?
Maybe I someone to give a concrete answer.

may configuration

GPU not working
GTX 460 2GB GDDR5 256bit
OpenGL 4.1

my 2600K CPU supports the instruction

MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, EM64T, VT-x, AES, AVX
----------
Before writing I do compare Oktan Render as the fastest and Indigo.
But I'm trying to ask the question why doesn't GPU GF460
Me being the latest here that can give hints and I think you are a bit rude with someone that helped a lot of people, as beta tester and forumer. This IMHO.
Anyway about your GTX 460 I didn't find it listed in the products that support OpenCL here
https://www.khronos.org/conformance/ado ... cts#opencl
So will not work for GPU rendering. About the 660 need to work and others can give you better hints.
Edit: looking here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GeForce_400_series appear the 460 does support OpenCL 1.1 needed from Indigo, so better you follow others suggestions about your drivers version.
Last edited by davide445 on Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4636
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by Zom-B » Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:14 pm

Prof4D wrote:Zom-B I don't need your answers.
Still nobody understands what you want to tell us with your Octane images,
please explain what we see there and why this is important!
Please tell us what Indigos Render Log writes, this would really help to understand your issue.
Prof4D wrote:I do ask that they pay developers?
I'm only unpaid Betatester but worked and tested the v4 Beta for many weeks now, and own 2 GPUs that are very close to yours, therefore I thought I could help since your very bad desribed problem sounded like having old GPU drivers.
Prof4D wrote:Why doesn't GPU GF460 and 660?
Maybe I someone to give a concrete answer.
I have a renderslave with an NVIDIA GTS 450 and a GTX 660 both run Indigo!
see here: http://www.indigorenderer.com/forum/vie ... =1#p135035

Don't expect miracles from your GTX 460
Last edited by Zom-B on Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Originalplan®
Posts: 733
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:58 pm
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by Originalplan® » Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:19 pm

Prof4D wrote:Zom-B I don't need your answers.
Hold your horses.
Prof4D wrote:I do ask that they pay developers?
What? ^ ^

Octane is Octane and Indigo is Indigo.
I don't get the comparing of them. ( yep both GPU renderers but both are build on different tech )
If you want a fair comparsion wait for the finished V4 and use the same scenes as in you octane renderer.
Than you can conclude what App to buy.

PS: i would not be rude(ish) to Zom-B first he is a cool dude. And second it tells a lot about your character.
Third he can help you a lot if you encounter problems....and maybe you will need a helping hand in the future if you choose Indigo as your engine.

But who am i right? Just sayin. ^ _ ^

User avatar
dakiru
Indigo 100
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 6:51 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by dakiru » Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:36 pm

OnoSendai wrote: 4.0.31
* Fixed problem with Linux build.
Not in my case:

Code: Select all

[dak:~/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31] % ./indigo       
This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "xcb".

Available platform plugins are: linuxfb, minimal, offscreen, xcb.

Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.
zsh: abort (core dumped)  ./indigo
Is there any info I could provide to narrow down the issue?

User avatar
vasco
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Germany

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by vasco » Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:54 pm

Hey, can someone explain me what max allocation under Device Information means? I thought Zom-Bs Scence already uses more than 1GB of Vram. I read somewhere that Nvidia cards can only use 1/4 of Vram with Indigo, is that still the case?
Attachments
screen.jpg
Intel Pentium 4, 512MB Ram, Nvidia Riva TNT2 Ultra

User avatar
lycium
Developer
Posts: 1193
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 7:46 am
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by lycium » Tue Apr 12, 2016 11:42 pm

Hi Vasco,

the max allocation is the largest amount of memory that can be allocated at once, e.g. for textures. Indigo will perform several memory allocations for textures and geometry separately, however any individual allocation must be <= this amount.

The Max Allocation reported by Indigo is the largest amount of memory that can be allocated at once with OpenCL, e.g. for textures. The practical limitation at this point is that the total texture size is limited to 25% of total GPU memory on NVIDIA, and about 65% of total GPU memory on AMD.

We might be able to work around this limitation in future, especially since OpenCL 2.0 promises unified CPU and GPU memory space. Until then, the AMD GPUs are very attractive given their performance / price / memory size and allocation limit!

User avatar
dakiru
Indigo 100
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 6:51 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by dakiru » Wed Apr 13, 2016 1:58 am

With these environment variables:

Code: Select all

export QT_SELECT=5
export QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME="qt5ct"
export QT_DEBUG_PLUGINS=1
export QT_PLUGIN_PATH=.
This is the output:

Code: Select all

./indigo       
QFactoryLoader::QFactoryLoader() checking directory path "/home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms" ...
QFactoryLoader::QFactoryLoader() looking at "/home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqlinuxfb.so"
Found metadata in lib /home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqlinuxfb.so, metadata=
{
    "IID": "org.qt-project.Qt.QPA.QPlatformIntegrationFactoryInterface.5.3",
    "MetaData": {
        "Keys": [
            "linuxfb"
        ]
    },
    "className": "QLinuxFbIntegrationPlugin",
    "debug": false,
    "version": 328961
}


Got keys from plugin meta data ("linuxfb")
QFactoryLoader::QFactoryLoader() looking at "/home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqminimal.so"
Found metadata in lib /home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqminimal.so, metadata=
{
    "IID": "org.qt-project.Qt.QPA.QPlatformIntegrationFactoryInterface.5.3",
    "MetaData": {
        "Keys": [
            "minimal"
        ]
    },
    "className": "QMinimalIntegrationPlugin",
    "debug": false,
    "version": 328961
}


Got keys from plugin meta data ("minimal")
QFactoryLoader::QFactoryLoader() looking at "/home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqoffscreen.so"
Found metadata in lib /home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqoffscreen.so, metadata=
{
    "IID": "org.qt-project.Qt.QPA.QPlatformIntegrationFactoryInterface.5.3",
    "MetaData": {
        "Keys": [
            "offscreen"
        ]
    },
    "className": "QOffscreenIntegrationPlugin",
    "debug": false,
    "version": 328961
}


Got keys from plugin meta data ("offscreen")
QFactoryLoader::QFactoryLoader() looking at "/home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqxcb.so"
Found metadata in lib /home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqxcb.so, metadata=
{
    "IID": "org.qt-project.Qt.QPA.QPlatformIntegrationFactoryInterface.5.3",
    "MetaData": {
        "Keys": [
            "xcb"
        ]
    },
    "className": "QXcbIntegrationPlugin",
    "debug": false,
    "version": 328961
}


Got keys from plugin meta data ("xcb")
loaded library "/home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqxcb.so"
QLibraryPrivate::loadPlugin failed on "/home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqxcb.so" : "Cannot load library /home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/platforms/libqxcb.so: (/home/dak/Downloads/IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.0.31/libQt5Gui.so.5: version `Qt_5_PRIVATE_API' not found (required by /usr/lib/libQt5XcbQpa.so.5))"
This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "xcb".

Available platform plugins are: linuxfb, minimal, offscreen, xcb.

Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.
zsh: abort (core dumped)  ./indigo

User avatar
vasco
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Germany

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by vasco » Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:16 am

lycium wrote: ...AMD GPUs are very attractive given their performance / price / memory size and allocation limit!
Would like to see the benchmark results of the R9 390(X) or the Fury (X). Also interested in the upcoming Polaris and Pascal.
Intel Pentium 4, 512MB Ram, Nvidia Riva TNT2 Ultra

SreckoM
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:33 pm
Location: home/Serbia/Novi Sad

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by SreckoM » Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:19 am

Yeah still no luck with Linux version. Hope they will fix it soon.

Any news on plugins front?

User avatar
Ludwolf76
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 3:31 am
Location: Viareggio, Italy

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by Ludwolf76 » Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:22 am

Dear Developers,
what about an upgrade option from Indigo 3 to 4? In the store We can just buy a new licence and the upgrade link inside Indigo is broken!

Thank you for your answer and consideration.

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6174
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Apr 13, 2016 4:20 am

Upgrades on store may work now.
Go to your private order page and there should be a 'buy now' button.

Please *do not* buy an upgrade if you are entitled to a free upgrade!

Customers who bought Indigo since the 3.8 release (Dec 2014) are entitled to a free upgrade to Indigo 4!

(The free upgrades will be sent out soon.)

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by fused » Wed Apr 13, 2016 4:24 am

Updated RT builds. Should work now.

Prof4D
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:04 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4 public beta

Post by Prof4D » Wed Apr 13, 2016 6:39 am

If the developers wrote the {using all your OpenCL devices NVIDIA, AMD and Intel GPUs} why doesn't it work for the GPU.
When you run Indigo 4.0.31 the result is a black screen.
GT 460
OpenGL 4.1
Driver 364,72
the K2600 CPU
Attachments
Screenshot-239.jpg
Screenshot-238.jpg

Post Reply
560 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests