Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by CTZn » Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:26 am

Hi Tom,

If I remember correctly the default Indigo void space has a precedence of 1 itself, this value should not be used. Agreed, it should not be available at all if the above is correct. Conflicts are to be expected then.

I have also noticed very slow startups while using shader scattering, it would be nice to know why exactly. I am assuming that a simple noise, constantly varying, requires a lot more of computations before the light can reach the scene ?
- Disable Shader or set back to None (for Scattering)
- Rendering still won't start, Indigo sometimes locks up
Yup there might be a fish under the rock, question mark.

StompinTom
Indigo 100
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by StompinTom » Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:32 am

CTZn wrote:Hi Tom,

If I remember correctly the default Indigo void space has a precedence of 1 itself, this value should not be used. Agreed, it should not be available at all if the above is correct. Conflicts are to be expected then.

I have also noticed very slow startups while using shader scattering, it would be nice to know why exactly. I am assuming that a simple noise, constantly varying, requires a lot more of computations before the light can reach the scene ?
- Disable Shader or set back to None (for Scattering)
- Rendering still won't start, Indigo sometimes locks up
Yup there might be a fish under the rock, question mark.
Ah, didn't know the 'void' had a precedence value. Makes sense then! But yes, should be not allowed in the material settings then.

I remember Nick had done some tests with shader scattering which looked as if they rendered fine (i.e. not extremely slowly). Any hints about shader scattering?

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4663
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by Zom-B » Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:15 pm

StompinTom wrote:I remember Nick had done some tests with shader scattering which looked as if they rendered fine (i.e. not extremely slowly). Any hints about shader scattering?
For the Medium of a material there exists a variable named "Step Size" in the Indigo GUI.
Raising that should speed up rendering but be less "realistic"...

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2174
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by Oscar J » Thu Aug 23, 2012 1:50 am

FakeShamus wrote:Good Stuff! Orthographic camera is very exciting!

Couple peeves as a Mac user:
Command-Q still reloads the scene, instead of quitting the application.
And we are still missing the "File > Save Material" menu for saving materials from an open scene (apparently this shows up in the property editor pane for Windows users - but we don't get it in OSX).

thanks!
Did the developers forget about these?

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3558
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by fused » Thu Aug 23, 2012 1:56 am

Oscar J wrote:
FakeShamus wrote:Good Stuff! Orthographic camera is very exciting!

Couple peeves as a Mac user:
Command-Q still reloads the scene, instead of quitting the application.
And we are still missing the "File > Save Material" menu for saving materials from an open scene (apparently this shows up in the property editor pane for Windows users - but we don't get it in OSX).

thanks!
Did the developers forget about these?
No :)

Command-Q is fixed for the next release and File->Save on property editor will be looked into.

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by zeitmeister » Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:19 am

Yeah!

User avatar
Bosseye
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:52 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by Bosseye » Thu Aug 23, 2012 10:53 pm

Guys, can someone summarize how to work with EXR environment maps in this version please in Sketchup? I've just updated from v3.0.10 and the process is entirely different....

Thanks,

Edit: Its ok, figured it out now. Didn't notice the '...' button to quick link the EXR to the material. Might be worth someone updating the manual documentation to reflect this altered process though.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4663
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by Zom-B » Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:32 pm

Bosseye wrote:Might be worth someone updating the manual documentation to reflect this altered process though.
Here are some quite new video tutorials for some stuff:
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLD14E96A2CD263FE1

User avatar
Bosseye
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:52 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by Bosseye » Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:44 pm

Oh, awesome. Thanks :)

User avatar
Bosseye
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:52 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by Bosseye » Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:11 pm

Just a possible bug here, I'm getting a 'CUDA out of memory error' every so often, even on really simple scenes. Seems to do it when using Bi directional PT with GPU acceleration (as you might expect from the CUDA bit I suppose), and often does it when running a full model export. If I then run a quick export after the error occurs, then it generally renders ok

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4663
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by Zom-B » Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:45 pm

Bosseye wrote:... Seems to do it when using Bi directional PT with GPU acceleration...
GPU rendering works only in pure PT!
By forcing BiDir using your exporter (shouldn't be possible at all dear Exporter dev ^^ ) that error could maybe happen...

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by CTZn » Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:07 pm

Zom-B wrote:
Bosseye wrote:... Seems to do it when using Bi directional PT with GPU acceleration...
GPU rendering works only in pure PT!
By forcing BiDir using your exporter (shouldn't be possible at all dear Exporter dev ^^ ) that error could maybe happen...
As far as I know Indigo should adapt itself when the GPU tag is on, there is no way to force bidir on with gpu currently. Unless perhaps using the Indigo SDK but I'm not even sure.

Perhaps the geometry export is using the video memory somehow and fails in freeing it in time for Indigo ? Try to update the board drivers perhaps...

User avatar
Bosseye
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:52 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by Bosseye » Fri Aug 31, 2012 3:12 am

Thanks guys - I'll update my card drivers and see if that fixes things.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.4.4

Post by CTZn » Fri Aug 31, 2012 4:49 am

*crosses fingers*

Post Reply
59 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests