Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
User avatar
solarray
1st Place Winner
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by solarray » Mon Jan 02, 2012 6:54 am

The bug I encountered in 3.2.2 is still alive:
In the Texture Editor a button reload texture would be nice. At the moment when a texture is loaded and i will overwrite it with a 2d app, indigo will not recognize it.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by CTZn » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:17 am

solarray wrote:The bug I encountered in 3.2.2 is still alive:
In the Texture Editor a button reload texture would be nice. At the moment when a texture is loaded and i will overwrite it with a 2d app, indigo will not recognize it.
This request has been marked with an higher priority ;)

User avatar
solarray
1st Place Winner
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by solarray » Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:10 am

Following procedure will crash indigo 3.2.5

- open indio and go to "new material"
- stop the renderer
- go to "base" material and change its type to blend
- start the renderer

cheers

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by CTZn » Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:17 am

Replicated, Indigo crashes if restarted while under 'material A is not a valid material' (empty slot) notification.

Thank you for the bug reports solarray.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4666
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by Zom-B » Tue Jan 10, 2012 1:40 am

A Vignetting checkbox in the GUI inside the camera tab is missing...
Also a "Reset Camera Button" from the igs data would be nice!

StompinTom
Indigo 100
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by StompinTom » Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:26 pm

Hello,

Opening *.igq files crashes Indigo. Exported from Blender 2.61 using the latest export script and Indigo 3.2.5.

Upon opening the *.igq file for an animation, Indigo opens and immediately throws a 'Runtime Error!' titled with 'Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library'. Any ideas?

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4666
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by Zom-B » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:38 pm

I just finished a 3 days rendering marathon for a animation using igq done by cindigo, so it doesn't seem to be a Indigo related issue but maybe for the exporter?!
here is a line how my igq is build:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="no" ?>
<render_queue>
    <item>
        <scene_path>C:\temp\Homecinema_frame000000.igs</scene_path>
        <output_path>D:\- Homecinema Final -\homecinema_frame000000</output_path>
        <halt_time>-1.000000</halt_time>
        <halt_spp>100.000000</halt_spp>
    </item>
</render_queue>
Maybe your paths are invalid???

StompinTom
Indigo 100
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by StompinTom » Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:33 am

Hm... I'll check that out.

Also, is it possible to get a .zip file of the Indigo installation? I'm trying to use it on a different computer where I don't have admin rights...

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4666
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by Zom-B » Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:04 am

StompinTom wrote:Also, is it possible to get a .zip file of the Indigo installation? I'm trying to use it on a different computer where I don't have admin rights...
simply zip the Indigo Folder of your main System... done :)
The only thing you miss from the exe files are the included exporters and the registry entry that some exporters refer to.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4666
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by Zom-B » Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:10 pm

Opening the options dialog in the GUI and closing it let the samples/s go CRAZY!

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4666
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by Zom-B » Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:17 pm

Sorry for triple posting... but... well...

Just to Bump the darkening Issue on GPU rendering for Phong Materials, I just realized that using glass Acel. in GPU mode you end up with even more different change in brightness! Check the attached images by switching between them:
mckinley_actual_windowfuzz_CPU_glass_acel.jpg
CPU rendered Reference: PT + Glass Acel.
mckinley_actual_windowfuzz_GPU_glass_acel.jpg
GPU: PT + Glass Acel.
mckinley_actual_windowfuzz_GPU.jpg
GPU: PT
I used the scene from here by Frutiger during "crashtesting", I hope thats ok...

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by CTZn » Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:41 am

My idea on this is probably naive, but it could be that activating glass accel is diverting some of the computing power into that system, requiring more time to reach the same sample density for a given surface.

Another discrepancy I noticed back then between GPU and CPU rendering was the apparent bump depth being deeper with GPU. This means more rays absorbed with GPU, less bounces overall. edit: the ray absorbtion may even be stronger with a stepped bump, like bricks here.

User avatar
ENSLAVER
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:49 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.5

Post by ENSLAVER » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:08 pm

When the sun is located at exactly 90.00 degrees zenith you get an odd stretching/line with the original sky model, it works fine with the new captured simulation.

Reinhard mapping
win7 x64
Attachments
Untitled-scene.jpg

Post Reply
43 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest