Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:56 am

This is a Beta release.
If you spot any bugs or problems, please make a post about them in this thread.
Thanks!

Indigo for Windows 32-bit:
IndigoRenderer_3.2.1_Setup.exe

Indigo for Windows 64-bit:
IndigoRenderer_x64_3.2.1_Setup.exe

Indigo for Mac OSX (10.5 - 10.7):
IndigoRenderer3.2.1.dmg


Indigo RT for Windows 32-bit:
IndigoRT_3.2.1_Setup.exe

Indigo RT for Windows 64-bit:
IndigoRT_x64_3.2.1_Setup.exe

Indigo RT for Mac OSX (10.5 - 10.7):
IndigoRT3.2.1.dmg

Changelog:
3.2.1
* Bundled SkIndigo-3.2.1-Installer.exe
* Fixed problems with null materials and bidir.
* Added save_png option to RendererSettings
* Improved error messages for invalid emission scale or IES material names.
* Fixed zoom combo box order.
* Faster tonemapping.

User avatar
snorky
Indigo 100
Posts: 323
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Parma, Italy

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by snorky » Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:56 am

I'm sorry to repeat.... the "render settings" tab has a problem!
I tried on E8400-xp, E6550-vista64, Atom330-vista, Atom230-seven. It disappears when starting Indigo (anchored in the layout or not, is the same)

:)

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by zeitmeister » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:24 pm

Null materials work like a charm now!
Post Aperture Diffraction still seems to be very slow... there might be some need for improvement.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by Zom-B » Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:15 pm

zeitmeister wrote:Post Aperture Diffraction still seems to be very slow... there might be some need for improvement.
I can second that.
My test-scenario for this is a 800x450 render with SS4 takes 900MB to render.
Switching PostPro AD on, the RAM usage raises to 4.3GB (!!!1!) and Indigo only keeps working on 1 core for ages!

Please multithread the PostPro AD and finally apply it after doing SuperSampling, otherwise its useless and only good to hang your system...
Last edited by Zom-B on Thu Nov 10, 2011 12:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by zeitmeister » Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:30 pm

Confirming single-threaded post aperture diffraction here.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by Zom-B » Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:45 pm

Something else a little nasty:

rendering with a "halt parameter" and a "image save period":

halt condition reached => no autosave!
instead => waiting for save period!
even after stopped rendering the image gets re-saved each XX seconds until end of time.

Autosave for animations in the Q looks good, but the last image seems to behave like above!

I would suggest that reaching halt parameter (for a still image) the image doesn't get stopped, but paused!
Also raising the halt parameter in the GUI and continuing should be possible here...

for sure no show-stoppers, but still something thats "looks strange" to me.
Last edited by Zom-B on Thu Nov 10, 2011 12:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PureSpider
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:37 am
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by PureSpider » Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:49 pm

Zom-B wrote:Switching PostPro AD on the RAM usage raises to 4.3GB (!!!1!) and Indigo only keeps working on 1 core for ages!
This.

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Nov 10, 2011 12:09 am

Zom-B wrote:
zeitmeister wrote:Post Aperture Diffraction still seems to be very slow... there might be some need for improvement.
I can second that.
My test-scenario for this a 800x450 render with SS3 takes 900MB to render.
Switching PostPro AD on the RAM usage raises to 4.3GB (!!!1!) and Indigo only keeps working on 1 core for ages!

Please multithread the postPro AD and finally apply it after doing SuperSampling, otherwise its useless and only good to hang your system...
Hi Zom-B,
You are quite right, although I did some work on the creation of the aperture diffraction filter, the actual application is still quite slow and memory intensive. I'll try and speed it up, but it's quite tricky :)

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by Zom-B » Thu Nov 10, 2011 12:14 am

OnoSendai wrote:I'll try and speed it up, but it's quite tricky :)
Speed isn't the main concern, but RAM usage disqualifies PostAD as a option for a lot of my projects :/

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by Zom-B » Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:38 am

Another small detail:

The scene specific metadata don't get displayed in the Indigo GUI, only the scene span.
Cindigo for example sets these metadata in the igs:

Code: Select all

<metadata>
    <exporter>Cindigo 3.2.1</exporter>
    <platform>Windows 64-Bit</platform>
    <created_date>15:33:24, 9.11.2011</created_date>
</metadata>

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by Pibuz » Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:37 pm

Hi guys!
..is it only me, or the tonemap changes done during the rendering are not autosaved in the image?

I need to manually save the render to get the light layers' colour corrected!

User avatar
dag
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:28 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by dag » Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:54 pm

Disable the medium for a material and indigo crashes.
Medium isn't added to scene list but adding a new medium from toolbar then adds both to the list.
Pause render, then change material settings or whatever and the render starts, but still shows paused.

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by Pibuz » Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:36 am

...and red dots strangely appear in my basic testscene.
See attached! Thanks guys!
Attachments
im1320935214.png
reddots.pigs
(5.88 KiB) Downloaded 137 times

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by Zom-B » Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:41 am

A allergic reaction to the lack of super-sampling Pibuz ^^
GPU mode?

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 3.2.1

Post by OnoSendai » Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:49 am

Pibuz wrote:...and red dots strangely appear in my basic testscene.
See attached! Thanks guys!
That is odd.. works fine for me. As Zom-B asked, are you using GPU?

Post Reply
29 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest