Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
User avatar
Headroom
Indigo 100
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Spartanburg, SC, USA

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by Headroom » Fri Jul 22, 2011 1:16 am

dag wrote:i7 860: 900k s/s
+ HD5770: 1,6M s/s

800MB ram reported. Using catalyst 11.6 or something, I don't know. Drivers are messed up. Only drivers from windows update works. Shocking!? AMD drivers suck.
With what scene ?

I don't see that level of performance increase on my i7 iMac which has somewhat similar hardware specs (i7 870 + HD5750).
The only scene where I see OpenCL GPU supported performance (quite drastic too) increase is the Caterpillar scene. For all other (test) scenes PT GPU+CPU is slower than CPU-only.

I see a Windows based render slave with NVIDIA hardware in my near future.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4664
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by Zom-B » Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:17 pm

Headroom wrote:I see a Windows based render slave with NVIDIA hardware in my near future.
Still beta station of version v3..... maybe there are some issues with the build or with your oooooold GPU drivers...
One of both is more likely ;)

User avatar
Headroom
Indigo 100
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Spartanburg, SC, USA

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by Headroom » Fri Jul 22, 2011 1:12 pm

Zom-B wrote:
Headroom wrote:I see a Windows based render slave with NVIDIA hardware in my near future.
Still beta station of version v3..... maybe there are some issues with the build or with your oooooold GPU drivers...
One of both is more likely ;)
True. However, having an iMac with a mobile (i7 870; ATI Radeon 5750M) GPU comes with a few limitations. I already am on 10.6.8 and if there's something newer out there in terms of OpenCL drivers it may improve the performance by a few percentage points provided I'd be able to track such things down and knew how to install them.
However, the fact remains it's still a mobile GPU and will never really rock the boat. Also doing anything else while rendering with Indigo in GPU mode is so far pretty choppy!

Even if I upgrade to the newest i7 iMac that features a i2600 CPU and an ATI HD 6970M I guess I would be about $500 - $700 out of pocket if I sold this iMac (i7 870) and it would be not as much bang for the buck as if I add a dedicated render node with say a ATI 470 and a i2600 board/processor. Also I'd have much quicker access to latest graphics card drivers and better upgrade opportunities for the future.

Neat thing is that with my Indigo 100 license I still have two unused node licenses ;-)

Onfame
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:32 pm

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by Onfame » Sat Jul 23, 2011 9:33 am

After this update i just get an error when i use GPU acceleration.

GPU: NVIDIA 8600 GS

User avatar
juan_irender
Indigo 100
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 12:37 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by juan_irender » Sat Jul 23, 2011 9:49 pm

Headroom wrote:
dag wrote: I see a Windows based render slave with NVIDIA hardware in my near future.
Hi Headroom. For now Indigo 3.0.x has problems with mixed net rendering machines (OSX - Windows). The problem arises with the use of scenes with textures, the slave machines can´t locate the path where textures are stored (a matter of directory path slashes, "\" vs "/"?)
In Indigo 2.6.1 the mixed OS´s net rendering machines works well, so I´m sure its a minor bug, I hope Glare team will iron out in future Indigo releases.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4664
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by Zom-B » Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:11 pm

Just to explain some of the innovations in network rendering for Indigo 3 that was done and maybe still generate some issues:

v2 always packed the whole scene and send it to the slave, where the the whole scene gets extracted in a folder to be used (master scene zip stayed in the cache folder too!).
A lot of network traffic and HDD space was spent here, since changing a single bump value of a texture needed a whole new full package to be transfered!

v3 now transfers the files separately and indexes them. Your 250MB HDRI map only gets transfered once and reused, same for the meshes etc.
Changing the bump value in v3 only transfers the changed igs file, and also a new different scene using "old" and already transfered textures don't need to send that files anymore to the slave.

Using Internet based network rendering this enhancements are a blessing!
Now only the size of transfered IGI files from slave to master need to shrink ;)

User avatar
Headroom
Indigo 100
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Spartanburg, SC, USA

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by Headroom » Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:34 am

@ Zom-B thanks for the info. I had not read about that before here on the forum.
@juan_irender Good to know and I appreciate the concern! When I said near future that meant within the next 6 months and experience tells me that the fine folks at glare usually iron those things out pretty quickly.

User avatar
dag
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:28 am

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by dag » Sun Jul 24, 2011 6:50 pm

Headroom wrote:
dag wrote:i7 860: 900k s/s
+ HD5770: 1,6M s/s

800MB ram reported. Using catalyst 11.6 or something, I don't know. Drivers are messed up. Only drivers from windows update works. Shocking!? AMD drivers suck.
With what scene ?

I don't see that level of performance increase on my i7 iMac which has somewhat similar hardware specs (i7 870 + HD5750).
The only scene where I see OpenCL GPU supported performance (quite drastic too) increase is the Caterpillar scene. For all other (test) scenes PT GPU+CPU is slower than CPU-only.

I see a Windows based render slave with NVIDIA hardware in my near future.
Same here. Caterpillar CPU 40k s/s, CPU+GPU 20 times faster, but decreases steadily.

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by Pibuz » Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:57 pm

..could be possible to add the ALPHA RENDER method in the GUI?

..and I also suggest a check indicating which tool is currently enabled, whether the selection or pan tool.
Also, a small clear icon on the status bar could help :)

Thanks guys!

User avatar
dag
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:28 am

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by dag » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:22 am

Indigo locks up with threads set to 3, 5, 6, 7 or 9+, when gpu enabled.
i7 with ht enabled and hd5770.

User avatar
lycium
Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 7:46 am
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by lycium » Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:33 am

dag wrote:Indigo locks up with threads set to 3, 5, 6, 7 or 9+, when gpu enabled.
i7 with ht enabled and hd5770.
Just tested this now, cannot reproduce on my i7 + GeForce GTX 470 (using both CUDA and OpenCL modes with 3 threads).

FakeShamus
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 11:34 am

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by FakeShamus » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:50 pm

I just noticed an interesting thing - I had an object in my scene with a phong (nk) material and displacement using an image texture (.tif image). I started the render and then, inside Indigo, I selected that material and switched it from phong to null. when the render re-loaded the object was invisible, but it still cast the shadow of the displaced object. when I deleted the image file path for the displacement, the render reloaded and the shadow disappeared. not sure if this is necessarily a bug, could be potentially useful for someone (maybe?)

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by CTZn » Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:01 pm

wow (:

There's probably a bug beneath, but if that's true then you can render the image with and without the shadows and substract them afterwards in order to get a sort of a shadow pass. I think. Weird ^^

edit: ah no I get it, the shadow comes from path tracing having bad time with null. Scattering schmilblick... iirc d:

User avatar
dag
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:28 am

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by dag » Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:29 am

lycium wrote:
dag wrote:Indigo locks up with threads set to 3, 5, 6, 7 or 9+, when gpu enabled.
i7 with ht enabled and hd5770.
Just tested this now, cannot reproduce on my i7 + GeForce GTX 470 (using both CUDA and OpenCL modes with 3 threads).
When I use 3 threads, 1 thread terminates in the log, then nothing happens, and Indigo process stays open in task manager after closing. With 7 threads, 3 threads terminates.

Caterpillar scene and the milk test scene is 30 times faster with CPU on 2.6, and also scattering doesn't seem to render correctly. Choc milk is whiteish.

More AMDfail?

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Re: Indigo Renderer and Indigo RT 3.0.14

Post by Borgleader » Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:56 am

The nVidia update application tells me my drivers are up to date. Yet my GTX 550 Ti is not recognized even though it's a more recent model than the 9800 GT I used to have, which Indigo did recognize back then. Thoughts?

Post Reply
55 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests