Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
Post Reply
14 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6148
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by OnoSendai » Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:51 am

This is a release candidate for 4.2 stable.
If you spot any bugs or problems, please make a post about them in this thread.
Thanks!

Indigo for Windows 64-bit:
IndigoRenderer_x64_4.2.23_Setup.exe

Indigo for Linux 64-bit:
IndigoRenderer_x64_v4.2.23.tar.gz

Indigo for Mac OS X (10.9 - ):
IndigoRenderer4.2.23.dmg


Indigo RT for Windows 64-bit:
IndigoRT_x64_4.2.23_Setup.exe

Indigo RT for Linux 64-bit:
IndigoRT_x64_v4.2.23.tar.gz

Indigo RT for Mac OS X (10.9 - ):
IndigoRT4.2.23.dmg

Changelog:
4.2.23
* GPU: Fixed issue with multiple double-sided thin materials in scene.
* GPU: Fixed issue with realtime changes when an IES light is enabled.

iErik
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:48 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by iErik » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:03 am

Is the Material ID rendering function broken in the latest build, or is there a new way to access this tool?

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2151
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by Oscar J » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:15 am

iErik wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:03 am
Is the Material ID rendering function broken in the latest build, or is there a new way to access this tool?
It's now a render channel, meaning it's rendered alongside your main render.

See: https://www.indigorenderer.com/document ... r-channels

User avatar
noelyone
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:17 am
Location: London

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by noelyone » Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:35 am

My large scenes still cannot render, the screen stays black when gpu/cpl is ticked so I have to keep using version 4.0.55. I cannot send the sketchup files by dropbox as they are over 7oomb and the upload would take 1-2 days (very slow uploads). I'm not sure if anyone else is having this persisting issue but it only occurs when lots of high poly elements are in the scene like cars and plants. Version 4.0.55 works fine.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4603
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by Zom-B » Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:36 am

Hey noelyone,

since some time there is a option called allow high quality BVH that is on by default.
In C4D you can disable it, other exporters hopefully have that option too.

Code: Select all

<allow_high_quality_bvh>true</allow_high_quality_bvh>
Having this enabled instances aren't used for the scene and GPU rendering is faster but consumes more RAM.
Try setting that in your igs below <renderer_settings> to false and try if that helps.

User avatar
noelyone
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:17 am
Location: London

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by noelyone » Mon Dec 03, 2018 9:56 pm

Hi Zom-B thanks for you reply! All my trees/plants are instances, it's the high poly cars and 3D people in my scenes that prevent the render starting when gpu/cpl is ticked. Sorry, I am not quite sure where I edit the coding...

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4603
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by Zom-B » Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:32 pm

simply open up the igs file you export with your 3D app in a texteditor, add this line and save, then open in latest Indigo build.
igs.JPG
Also doublecheck your system RAM usage during the start of rendering, does it mayes out?
Can you provide info about your GPU and System Memory amount?

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by Lal-O » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:29 am

noelyone wrote:
Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:35 am
My large scenes still cannot render, the screen stays black when gpu/cpl is ticked so I have to keep using version 4.0.55. I cannot send the sketchup files by dropbox as they are over 7oomb and the upload would take 1-2 days (very slow uploads). I'm not sure if anyone else is having this persisting issue but it only occurs when lots of high poly elements are in the scene like cars and plants. Version 4.0.55 works fine.
Hi noelyone

I used to have that same problem (black screen with GPU+CPU) But that is been fixed in this new releases.

For some reason working with GPU and CPU at same time causes a problem for rendering, now by defaul is only possible to choose one device for production( CPU or GPU) but not both at same time....Shame,it would be awesome to have both devices ( or more besides the grapic cards ) working full at same time :)

Another thing it may be causing black screen with GPU is the lack of vr memory. With GPU is really easy to run out of memory :(

User avatar
noelyone
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:17 am
Location: London

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by noelyone » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:53 pm

Hi Zom-B and Lal-O

It sounds like it could be a GPU issue perhaps? Although I do have a good graphics card: GTX 1080. I have just checked and here are some of the figures:

Total available graphics memory: 24533 mb
dedicated video memory: 8182 mb
system video memory: 0mb
Shared system memory: 16341 mb

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated? Thanks.

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by Lal-O » Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:27 am

noelyone wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:53 pm
Hi Zom-B and Lal-O

It sounds like it could be a GPU issue perhaps? Although I do have a good graphics card: GTX 1080. I have just checked and here are some of the figures:

Total available graphics memory: 24533 mb
dedicated video memory: 8182 mb
system video memory: 0mb
Shared system memory: 16341 mb

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated? Thanks.
Sorry to hear that noelyone, all my GPU problems were related to the usage of CPU+GPU at same time...Oh , and sometimes displacement materials causes me problems due wrong settings and the lack of VR Memory ( sometimes an Nvidia Titan X is not enough : P ).

I am sorry i can not help.

Cheers.

Legos2112
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:35 am
Location: Venezuela
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by Legos2112 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:50 am

Lal-O wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:29 am
noelyone wrote:
Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:35 am
My large scenes still cannot render, the screen stays black when gpu/cpl is ticked so I have to keep using version 4.0.55. I cannot send the sketchup files by dropbox as they are over 7oomb and the upload would take 1-2 days (very slow uploads). I'm not sure if anyone else is having this persisting issue but it only occurs when lots of high poly elements are in the scene like cars and plants. Version 4.0.55 works fine.
Hi noelyone

I used to have that same problem (black screen with GPU+CPU) But that is been fixed in this new releases.

For some reason working with GPU and CPU at same time causes a problem for rendering, now by defaul is only possible to choose one device for production( CPU or GPU) but not both at same time....Shame,it would be awesome to have both devices ( or more besides the grapic cards ) working full at same time :)

Another thing it may be causing black screen with GPU is the lack of vr memory. With GPU is really easy to run out of memory :(

hi i just have the same issue this mornig cant render using the open cl rendering option

User avatar
arc en ciel
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:33 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by arc en ciel » Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:47 am

in GPU mode : Max path depth is limited to 100.
in some cases, it looks like this limit is too low, I guess.
I got black area when several flasks of glass are aligned

EDIT : oups !
there was an intersection of geometry between the objects. all is perfect now.
Attachments
tansparent-ray_GPU.jpg

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2146
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by pixie » Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:00 am

@arc en ciel
Indigo, nothing less of perfection! ;)

jcap168
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:57 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.2.23 Stable Release Candidate

Post by jcap168 » Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:00 am

Now I'm having an issue where the material editor is unusable. It just states "foo" under materials. Is there a fix for this. I looked over old posts about it but nothing fixed it.
Attachments
FOO.jpg

Post Reply
14 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest