Huge noob here! Lighting references anyone?

Announcements, requests and support regarding SkIndigo - the Sketchup / Indigo exporter.
9 posts • Page 1 of 1
Amie

Huge noob here! Lighting references anyone?

Post by Amie » Tue Sep 09, 2008 6:31 pm

I'm seriously the biggest noob of all nooblandia for Indigo AND sketchup.
But I'm figuring my way around a few things. Any tips on how I can actually get some light into my renderings! :D

Whats the whole concept? You make an object and assign a lighting material to it? I thought I did that on a simple rendering of a bottle I made. But bottle is too dark.

I made a circle, colored it yellow and assigned an incandescent material to it. I turned on Shadows in SU and then rendered my bottle with a translucent glass material to it.

I mean, you can tell its a bottle in the rendering, but yeah...... :?

I know there is a lot to it, but is there a way a general idea be explained in a few short sentences? Thanks.

PS: I invite anyone to screw around with my file and upload it again so that I can get a general idea of what is involved. I think it is the best way of learning.

Thanks again.
Attachments
Bottle.zip
Sketchup file.
(53.42 KiB) Downloaded 134 times
im1220940456.png
This is the bottle I made....simple. Yea, I know.
im1220940456.png (83.3 KiB) Viewed 2341 times

crojack

Post by crojack » Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:21 am

there is a tutorial if you search the forum you can find it.

also, as a good starting point, there are preset in the mat editor, you can choose those and adjust from there.

the search function works really well, most stuff has been covered here in the forums-

and have fun!

oh and you want to turn off sun/shadow if you are using lights, at least as a starting point. put that bottle in a room.

Blazedremedy

Post by Blazedremedy » Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:35 am

Download the getting started tutorial. That will get you on the right foot.

Amie

Post by Amie » Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:57 am