Creating a "real" mirror?

Announcements, requests and support regarding SkIndigo - the Sketchup / Indigo exporter.
12 posts • Page 1 of 1
spirp

Creating a "real" mirror?

Post by spirp » Sun May 25, 2008 2:43 am

Hi all!

New to the forums here, so I'll start with a quick presentation - my name is Olle, live and work in Uppsala, Sweden. I work as an interior designer, primarily with restaurants/night clubs, and use Indigo/Skindigo to render my interiors prior to presentation for the client.

My current problem is regarding mirrors without frames, that is, just a slab of glass with a reflective coating on the backside. How would you all go about creating a realistic mirror like this?

My approach (currently toasting) is to create a slab/cube with the front and sides in a glass-material, and on the back, I paint with a mirror-material as well as flipping the normal. This cube/slab-thingie is grouped, and then another rectangle is added (same size as the backside of the mirror). This rectangle is grouped and positioned so that it's back to back to the mirror, and the face is then painted in a matte gray. The separate face (the matte gray one) is to make the mirror fully opaque when viewed from the back.

Any comments/suggestions? Any other ideas on howto accomplish this? My main issue is that the edges of the mirror will be visible, therefor I don't want to paint the front surface with the mirror-material. Just realized that I should've used a frosted glass for the edges - they will after all, be polished (wouldn't want my customer cutting his fingers, would I?)

// Olle

Kram1032

Post by Kram1032 » Sun May 25, 2008 4:29 am

Could you post an image of that? - Nice idea, though that's one of the grey zones where nobody can tell you whether it's physically plausible...
Better (though a bit more complex) would be to have two cuboids, one with a glass- and the second one with a reflective material ;)
The grey plane can stay as is, I'd say....

spirp