Problem with windows...

Announcements, requests and support regarding SkIndigo - the Sketchup / Indigo exporter.
7 posts • Page 1 of 1
BurnGamer

Problem with windows...

Post by BurnGamer » Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:28 pm

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on these forums and I'm kinda new to Indigo and SkIndigo. I'm currently experimenting with the renderer and so far I'm doing quite fine, but right now, I'm having trouble with windows.

I downloaded a material in SketchUp called Ghost Glass, which simulates a clear glass panel. So I applicated this material on my model to simulate windows.

The problem is that when I render a specific scene (see image), I can see through the glass but the sun shine doesn't enter the room, so the room is very dark.

I tried to set the opacity of the window to 0 in SketchUp, but it didn't work. So I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong.

I searched for similar topics and some people talked about the IOR, but I don't know where to set this variable.

I would like to know what to do to let the sun shine through the windows, and please be specific.

Thanks
Attachments
Scene with windows.jpg

Headroom
Indigo 100

Re: Problem with windows...

Post by Headroom » Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:50 am

The newest Indigo beta release 2.6.1 have built-in algorithms for Architectural Glass Acceleration that help particularly with such scenes as yours. In that case I believe you would model the glass as a thin sheet with volume. Just make sure to use the equivalent exporter to use with that Indigo version.

Also, and I am not exactly sure here either, the Ghost glass would have to be not be applied to a glass volume but to a single polygon with the surface normal pointing inwards.