Having troubles with transparency

Announcements, requests and support regarding SkIndigo - the Sketchup / Indigo exporter.
10 posts • Page 1 of 1
Fox

Having troubles with transparency

Post by Fox » Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:25 am

Hey guys,

first of all I want to say that I'm still a newbie when it comes to 3D rendering. Today I installed trial version of Indigo (using Google Sketchup 7.1) and so far I understand pretty much all of the main functions but I came across with a problem: I've been trying to render a room that has glass walls, those walls should be transparent (keeping the blue colour of the glass but still being enough transparent to see objects on the oposite side of the walls.
I tried everything: In the material editor I tried to edit reflections, roughness, transparency checkbox etc and I just cannot make it transparent. I get either solid blue object or solid black.

Can anyone give me a hint what should I do?

Thanks and best regards,

Fox

StompinTom
Indigo 100

Re: Having troubles with transparency

Post by StompinTom » Fri Oct 08, 2010 9:36 am

Since Indigo models its materials on the physical world, your glass walls need thickness. Otherwise, the whole interior of the walls is taken to be glass, which means that all light will be absorbed by the time it gets to the other side, which means a black or blue image. You have to model panes of glass with their respective thickness.

dag

Post by dag » Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:10 pm

Here's the simplest blue glass you can get.
Save as igm file and open in mat editor. Change absorption coefficient spectrum to adjust color.
0 0 0,8 = max blueness
0,7 0,7 0,8 = no blueness very much for you

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<scenedata>
	<medium>
		<name>blue_glass_medium</name>
		<precedence>2</precedence>
		<basic>
			<ior>1.5</ior>
			<cauchy_b_coeff>0</cauchy_b_coeff>
			<absorption_coefficient_spectrum>
				<rgb>
					<rgb>
						41.6496 41.6496 10.1429
					</rgb>