Revit

Announcements, information, requests and support regarding other exporters and general/new exporters
14 posts • Page 1 of 1
sfaust

Revit

Post by sfaust » Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:11 am

We are an architectural firm. We use Revit which (in our opinion) is the future of archtiectural production software. Anyway, we can export to dwg and go though sketchup to get to indigo, but it would be great if we could get an exporter direct...

suvakas
3rd Place Winner

Post by suvakas » Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:19 am

Well.. i guess you have to start writing it then :wink:
Every exporter has pretty much come from users of the particular program. If you don't find someone who has the skill and time to program it for you, then you are on your own.
There is no team working on exporters or something like that.

sfaust

Post by sfaust » Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:44 am

doh. sorry. I'm new to this, just discovered the program a couple days ago... :oops:

I'm quite sure I dont' have the skill to write it. Maybe I can find someone who does... Oh well, looks like I'm going through sketchup for now...

suvakas
3rd Place Winner

Post by suvakas » Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:49 am

Maybe someone who is bored and knows how to program (and reads this thread) can help you out. :wink:

sfaust

Post by sfaust » Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:01 am

perhaps. I know there are several programmers over on the Revit forum too, maybe I can get them to help (by help i mean do it). They're a generous bunch generally and it could be worth it...

suvakas
3rd Place Winner

Post by suvakas » Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:07 am

Yeah, that would be a good place to ask.

Ricky

Post by Ricky » Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:47 am

Unfortunately all architects don't have the skill to write some useful exporter or parts of programs we need.
So, in the most of the cases is very hard to develop: I'm an architect too, working in a studio and we need some tools that nobody can do...

Personally I use Blender to export in Indigo from a Revit/AutoCad file.